结合质谱法色谱法的联用分析技术是一种成熟的实验室工具。 色谱法与 NMR 相结合也成了一种有力的实验室分析工具。它们的进一步发展甚至是将所有三种技术融入到一个 LC-NMR/NMR-MS 系统中,同时将固相萃取作为色谱法与 NMR 的有效对接引入。两种不同的主工作流有望相结合。
 

LC Schematics

色谱系统可以直接连接到 NMR 波谱仪。样品按“原样”转移到 NMR,保持着色谱系统提供的浓度和溶剂。样品可以在色谱分离过程中转移,随后 NMR 图谱可以通过流动模式(持续不断,当色谱仪在运行时)或停止流动模式(选定峰在NMR 探头中暂停,色谱仪亦暂停)获得。

 

在一个更复杂的程序中,在色谱分离结束后,选定的样品将在样品池中立即暂停,然后转移到 NMR。在此程序中,对样品的处理已降至最低。这意味着在注入混合物后,分离的化合物将转移到 NMR,不需要接触空气或光,也不需要对样品进行任何手动处理。此外,分离与 NMR 测量开始之间的间隔可缩短至 10 秒。

 

布鲁克公司的 LC-NMR 系统是追求灵敏度和检测不稳定化合物的理想之选,可以进行全面自动化的分析,亦可简单地为从 LC 分离到 NMR 结果提供一个十分便捷的方法。

在 LC-NMR 的最新发展中,固相萃取柱被用于在色谱分离后固定选定的峰。色谱溶剂被清除,样品被全氚代溶剂洗脱,从固相萃取柱中转移到 NMR 流动探头或转移到标准 NMR 样品管中。

 

 

固相萃取柱上的标准捕获∕洗脱过程提供的样品浓度,相对于 LC-NMR,其灵敏度可以提升 100%。此外,色谱仪可以在样品进入 NMR 之前多次进样,在固相萃取柱上进行反复富集。这样可就以更容易地进行要求更苛刻的反向实验,亦可为超低浓度的化合物检测提供足够的实验。

 

 

布鲁克公司的 LC-SPE-NMR系统可通过富集样品,大幅增加 NMR谱图的信噪比。这使得其在更加严苛的反向实验或研究低浓度杂质时,可以进行非常完整的结构鉴定。此外,全氚代溶剂为 NMR 图谱的获取提供了标准条件。

 

 

 

LC-NMR system

与 NMR 探头相结合 - 流动探头和 CryoFit

对于直接连接的 LC-(SPE)-NMR/MS 系统的 NMR 实验,流动探头是必须的。布鲁克拜厄斯宾公司已经开发了一系列高分辨率流动 NMR 探针,具有独一无二的灵敏度,而 NMR 配置就像正常的 5 毫米 NMR 探头一样(包括反向模式、 TXI、 Z方向梯度、ATMA 等)。它们有一个内置流动池,可提供不同尺寸。

 

 

CryoProbes™ 在样品管操作模式下可将灵敏度大幅提高 3-4 倍。布鲁克公司提供一种 CryoFit™,可将任何标准的 5 毫米 CryoProbe 转变成流动探头。转换仅需几分钟,并且是在 CryoProbes 在磁体中和冷却的状态下进行的。预热∕冷却时不需要停机。

更多信息

Overview LC-NMR - Analytical Techniques Combining Mass Spectrometry and Chromatography

LC-NMR

Interfacing Chromatography to NMR

Hyphenated analytical techniques combining mass spectrometry and chromatography are well established laboratory tools. The combination of chromatography and NMR has also made its way into the analytical laboratory. Further developments even combine all three techniques into an LC-NMR/NMR-MS system and the introduction of solid phase extraction as efficient interface between chromatography and NMR. Two different main workflows are possible.

LC Schematics

The chromatography system can be coupled more or less directly to the NMR spectrometer. The sample is transferred into the NMR “as is”, that is, it arrives with the concentration and the solvent as supplied by the chromatography system. The sample can be transferred during the chromatographic separation and the NMR spectra are then acquired either in on-flow mode (continuously, while the chromatography is running) or in stop-flow mode (while a selected peak is parked in the NMR probe and the chromatography is paused). 

In a more sophisticated procedure the selected samples are intermediately parked in sample loops and transferred to the NMR after the end of the chromatographic separation. In this procedure the sample handling is minimized. This means after the injection of the mixture, the separated compounds are transferred into the NMR without access of air or light and without any manual handling of the sample. In addition the delay between separation and the start of the NMR measurement can be reduced down to 10 seconds.

The Bruker LC-NMR systems are ideal for sensitive and instable compounds, fully automated analysis, or simply to provide a very convenient and quick path from LC separation to NMR results. In the latest development in LC-NMR, solid phase extraction cartridges are used to immobilize selected peaks after the chromatographic separation. The chromatography solvents are removed and the samples are eluted with fully deuterated solvents from the cartridges into either an NMR flow probe or into standard NMR sample tubes.

The standard trapping/elution process on an SPE cartridge already provides a concentration of the sample that leads to a 100% sensitivity gain compared to LC-NMR. In addition the chromatography can be repeated to multiply the sample content of the cartridge prior to the elution into the NMR. This easily supplies enough material for more demanding inverse experiments or the detection of very low concentrated compounds.

The Bruker LC-SPE-NMR system provides a dramatic increase in signal-to-noise of the NMR spectra by sample concentration. This makes it ideal for full structural elucidation with more demanding inverse experiments, or for the investigation of low concentrated impurities. Furthermore, the fully deuterated elution solvents provide standard conditions for the acquisition of NMR spectra.

LC-NMR system

Connection to the NMR Probes - Flow Probes and CryoFit

For the NMR measurements of a directly coupled LC-(SPE)-NMR/MS systems a flow probe is required. Bruker has developed a variety of high-resolution NMR flow probes with unique sensitivity and NMR configurations like normal 5mm NMR probes (.i.e. inverse and TXI geometry Z Gradients, ATMA, etc.). They have a build in flow cell, that is available in different sizes.
 
CryoProbes™ provide a dramatic increase in sensitivity by a factor of 3-4 in tube operation mode. Bruker offers a CryoFit™, which converts any standard 5-mm CryoProbe or a CryoProbe Prodigy into a flow probe. The conversion takes only a few minutes and is done while CryoProbes is in the magnet and cooled. No downtime for warm up/cool down required.