推进药物研发中的制药和生物制药配方

药物产品包含活性药物成分(API)和其他非活性成分,例如辅料、稀释剂、润滑剂和粘结剂。非活性成分的用途是优化药物的性能,例如调整药物释放速度或促进吸收。活性药物成分与这些成分一起构成了药物的配方。 

在药物研发过程中,所有药物产品都会配制成特定的剂型(例如口服片剂、胶囊、注射剂、局部用药和吸入剂),以便有效地向患者给药。因此,剂型决定了配方的开发,所需的技术和研发(R&D)科学家面临的挑战也取决于剂型。

配方开发方法可确保制造的药物具有稳定的理化性质,并在有效期内保持这种稳定性。配方还必须具有生物可利用性,并满足法规要求和质量标准以确保患者的安全。

某个特定配方中的活性药物成分在理化性质上必须与辅料相容。选择合适的辅料通常是配方开发的第一步,而近期的技术发展更进一步揭示了辅料与活性药物成分间的相互作用。

红外光谱学是药物研发过程中的针对配方开发和优化的一项强大的分析技术。傅里叶变换红外(FT-IR)光谱学解释了配方对生物制药药物产品中蛋白质稳定性的影响。

动态核极化(DNP)增强了核磁共振(NMR)的光谱灵敏度和信号强度,因而成为药类化合物表征的一个新兴领域。DNP-NMR光谱仪可以帮助研究员和药物开发者快速确定药物配方的成分,从而加快药物研发进度,同时保持安全性和药效。

Formulation

Advancing pharmaceutical and biopharmaceutical formulations in drug development

Drug products contain an active pharmaceutical ingredient (API) and other inactive ingredients, such as excipients, diluents, lubricants, and binders. The purpose of the inactive ingredients is to optimise the drug’s performance, for example by modifying drug release or facilitating absorption. The API together with these ingredients make up the drug formulation. 

During drug development, all drug products are formulated to particular dosage forms – such as oral tablets, capsules, injections, topical and inhaled – in order to be delivered effectively to the patient. Formulation development therefore depends on the dosage form, as will the technology required and the challenges facing research and development (R&D) scientists.

The process of formulation development ensures that the drug being manufactured is chemically and physically stable, and remains so throughout its shelf life. Formulations must also be bioavailable, and meet regulatory requirements and quality standards to ensure patient safety.

APIs must be physically and chemically compatible with the excipient within a given formulation. Selecting the right excipient is usually the first stage of formulation development and recent technological advances have provided a clearer picture of the interactions of excipients with APIs.

Infrared spectroscopy is a powerful analytical technique for formulation development and optimisation during drug development. Fourier Transfer Infrared (FT-IR) spectroscopy elucidates the influence of the formulation on protein stability in biopharmaceutical drug products.

Dynamic nuclear polarisation (DNP) enhances the spectroscopic sensitivity and signal intensity of nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR), and has become a newly developing field in the characterisation of pharmaceutical compounds. DNP-NMR spectrometers can help researchers and drug developers in the rapid determination of drug formulation components, therefore speeding up the drug development process whilst maintaining safety and efficacy.