banner_biopharma_1.jpg

В связи с многообразием аналитических задач и большим количеством видов микроорганизмов, в микробиологии применяются различные аналитические методы. Наиболее распространенным методом дифференцирования микроорганизмов по морфологическим признакам и их идентификации является окрашивание микроорганизмов.

ИК-Фурье спектроскопия позволяет идентифицировать и с высокой чувствительностью проводить количественное определение биомолекул, таких как белки, липиды, углеводороды, а так же ДНК/РНК. Для этого культивирование микроорганизмов проводится в стандартных условиях, собираются образцы данных биомолекул с характерными признаками, что впоследствии позволяет достоверно идентифицировать штамм.

Подготовка образца простая и быстрая: Микроорганизмы собирают из среды культивирования, готовят взвесь в воде и затем помещают на планшет прозрачный в ИК-диапазоне многоразового использования. Измерение проводят после высушивания образца. ИК-анализ позволяет исчерпывающе дифференцировать микроорганизмы, зачастую до уровня штаммов и более того, метод можно применить в случае необходимости дополнительных исследований образования метаболитов.

Метод позволяет снизить затраты на микробиологические исследования, поскольку для анализа не требуется применение  специальных сред или каких либо химических реактивов.

Компания Bruker предлагает системы, специально предназначенные для микробиологических исследований, например микропланшетный высокопроизводительный модуль HTS-XT.

banner_biopharma_1.jpg

Spectroscopic analysis of microorganisms

Due to the large variety of analytical questions and the high number of different microorganism species many analytical methods are applied in microbiology. The differentiation of microorganisms by morphological characteristics and their identification using biochemical staining tests are typically applied techniques.

In recent years more and more molecular biological methods have been used. Apart from the identification of the microorganism medical applications require the determination of its pathogenity and resistance against antibiotics. In biotechnology monitoring of the production of certain natural materials or recombinant proteins is of interest.

FT-IR spectroscopy is a method that combines high sensitivity with a broad field of applications. Using FT-IR spectroscopy biomolecules like proteins, lipids, carbohydrates and DNA/RNA can be identified and quantified very sensitively. When cultivating microorganisms under standardized conditions a characteristic pattern of these biomolecules is obtained, allowing a reliable identification of the strain.

Sample preparation is quick and easy: The microorganisms are harvested from the cultivation medium, suspended in water and then transferred on a special IR-transparent, reusable sample plate. The measurement is performed after drying of the samples. The IR method allows in-depth differentiation, often down to strain level and furthermore it can be used for additional examinations, e.g. to monitor the production of certain metabolites.

As no complex media or chemicals are required the method is characterized by low running costs and allows reducing waste.

Bruker offers dedicated systems for microbiological applications like the microplate module HTS-XT that is designed for high sample throughput.