PMA50.jpg
VCD_spectra_pinene.jpg

Чистота энантиомеров

На рисунке справа представлены спектры ККД (верхний) и спектр поглощения (нижний) α-пинена различной степени очистки, полученные в 50µм кювете с окнами KBr. (1R)-α-пинен синий, (1S)-α-пинен красный ККД спектр. Цветные спектры КД соответствуют смеси с различным соотношением энантиометов. От синего до красного КД спектры α-пинена соответствуют энантиомерным избыткам +100, +75, +50, +25, +10, -10, -25, -50, -75, -100. Все спектры поглощения при этом одинаковы.

Molecular_structure_pinene.jpg

Верхний правый рисунок ясно показывает: несмотря на одинаковые спектры поглощения, оба энантиомера ( молекулы симметричные относительно операции зеркального отражения) дают ККД спектры противоположного знака. Спектроскопия ККД позволяет разделить энантиомеры с одинаковыми физическими свойствами. Более того, оптическая чистота, т.е. соотношение энантиомеров, может быть определена. Оптическая чистота определяется как избыток энантиомера:

Optical_purity.jpg

где R - концентрация (1R)-α-пинена, а cS - концентрация (1S)-α-пинена. В случае рацемата, т.е. смеси равного количества (1S)- и (1R)-α-пинена, энантиомерный избыток fEE = 0. Соответственно оптическая активность исчезает, а КД спектр равен нулю во всем спектральном диапазоне.

Методы хемометрического анализа, включенные в OPUS помогают определять оптическую чистоту образцов с неизвестным значением после построения соответсвующей калибровки.

 

 

Запрос более подробной информации

PMA50.jpg

Purity of Enantiomers

VCD_spectra_pinene.jpg

In the right figure VCD (upper) and absorption spectra (lower) of α-pinene in various optical purities are presented which were acquired in a 50µm KBr liquid cell. (1R)-α-pinene is the blue, (1S)-α-pinene the red VCD spectrum. The colored spectra in between depict the VCD signal from mixtures of both enantiomers in different ratios. From blue to red the VCD spectra of α-pinene with enantiomeric excesses from +100, +75, +50, +25, +10, -10, -25, -50, -75 and -100 are shown. All absorption spectra are congruent.

Molecular_structure_pinene.jpg

The upper right figure shows clearly: despite of identical absorption spectra both enantiomers (two molecules behaving like mirror and mirror image) result in VCD spectra with opposite sign. VCD spectroscopy allows for a distinction of enantiomers which have by nature the same physical properties. Furthermore optical purity, i.e. the ratio of both enentiomers, can be determined quantitatively. Optical purity is defined as enantiomeric excess:

Optical_purity.jpg

wherein cR denotes the concentration of (1R)-α-pinene and cS the concentration of  (1S)-α-pinene. In case of a racemate, i.e. a mixture with equal amount of (1S)- and (1R)-α-pinene, the enantiomeric excess fEE = 0. Consequently the optical activity is lifted and the VCD spectrum is zero in the complete spectral range, too.

Chemometric techniques included in OPUS allow for the determination of unknown optical purity from samples after appropriate calibration with quantitative algorithms.

Request more information