PMA50.jpg

Вторичная структура белков и пептидов

Измерение кругового дихроизма известно для ультрафиолетовой (УФ) области спектра. Области применения ограничены в большинстве случаев, поскольку характеристические полосы поглощения обычно довольно широки и неспецифичны (например, ароматика). В особенности для биомолекул ограничением являются также большие коэффициенты поглощения и рассеяния.

В ИК-диапазоне возбуждаются молекулярные колебания. В основном полосы поглощения в ИК узкие и специфичные. Маскировка спектральной информации, в отличие от электронного КД не наблюдается в ИК.

На рисунке ниже представлены КД (верхний) и спектры поглощения (нижний) гемоглобина (слева), лизоцима (посредине) и конканавалина A (справа), полученные в растворе D2O (50мг/мл) в 25µм кювете CaF2.

VCD_spectra.jpg

Спектры поглощения всех трех белков очень похожи. На всех графиках полоса поглощения амида I (преимущественно валентные колебания C=O) обозначена "I", полоса поглощеия амида II (преимущественно валентные колебания C-N и деформационные N-H), обозначена"II".

При рассмотрении очевидно, что полоса амида I в гемоглобине несимметрична относительно центра в 1650 см-1, конканавалин имеет максимум полосы амида I при 1630 см-1 и маленькое плечо при 1690 см-1.

Несмотря на схожесть спектров поглощения белков, их вторичная структура различна: гемоглобин состоит преимущественно из α-спиралей, конканвалин A из β-листов, а лизоцим обладает обеими структурами приблизительно в равных количествах.

Наибольшая разница вторичной структуры наблюдается в спектрах КД. Вид КД-спектра гемоглобина типичен для большого содержания α-спиралей, пик при 1630 см-1, наблюдаемый в КД спектре конканавалина характерен структуре β-листов. КД спектр лизоцима, соответственно его структуре, содержит оба описанных элемента.

КД спектроскопия обеспечивает уникальную возможность определить вторичную структуру белков, а также исследовать конформационные изменения. Эксперименты с другими белками показали, что КД сигналы однозначно зависят от вторичной структуры белков.

Запрос более подробной информации

PMA50.jpg

Secondary structure of proteins and peptides

Circular dichroism is known for the ultraviolet (UV) spectral region. Applications are limited in most cases because of characteristic absorption bands are typically broad and superimposed by unspecific bands (e.g. aromatics side chains). Especially for biomolecules large absorption and dispersion coefficients limit the applications.

In the infrared (IR) molecular vibrations are excited. The according absorptions bands are narrow and specific in general. A masking of the information unlike in electronic CD is not observed in the IR.

The following figure shows VCD (upper) and absorption (lower) spectra of hemoglobin (left), lysozyme (mid) and concanavalin A (right) each solved in D2O solution (50mg/ml) in a 25µm CaF2 cell.

VCD_spectra.jpg

The absorption spectra for the three proteins are very similar. All show a comparatively broad unstructured amid I absorption band (mainly C=O stretching mode), indicated by "I", and amid II absorption band (mainly C-N stretching and N-H deformation mode), indicated by "II".

First at a closer examination it is apparent that the amid I band of the hemoglobin behaves asymmetric around 1650 cm-1 while concanavalin A exhibits its amid I absorption maximum at 1630 cm-1 and a small shoulder at 1690 cm-1.

Despite of similar absorption spectra these proteins show significant differences in their secondary structure: hemoglobin is determined by an α-helix structure mainly while concanavalin A exists in a β-sheet predominantly and lysozyme shares both structure elements in comparable amounts.

Much more apparent are the differences for the secondary structures in VCD spectra. The derivate-like band of haemoglobin is for a high α-helix contribution typical whereas the dip at 1630 cm-1 in the VCD spectrum of concanavalin A is very specific for β-sheet structures. So it is no surprise that the VCD spectrum of lysozyme consists of both structure elements.

VCD spectroscopy therefore provides a unique possibility to determine the secondary structure of proteins but allows for the observation of conformational changes also. Experiments on other proteins show that signals in VCD depend from secondary structures unambiguously.

Request more information