小鼠的功能性心脏 MR 成像

自动门控技术一种非常有用的心脏成像替代技术,可实现稳定的心脏成像且不损失所得的心肌功能参数

功能性心脏 MR 成像 (CMR) 要求较高的肌肉/血液对比度,完全覆盖心动周期以及较高的时间分辨率。 出于这一目的,心跳门控通常使用 ECG 技术。EGG 作为一种电子测量技术,会受到磁场干扰,尤其在超高磁场中此类干扰特别明显。IntraGate 自动门控技术是一种非常有用的心脏成像替代技术,可实现稳定的心脏成像且不损失所得的心肌功能参数。

CardiacMouse_Fig1A.jpg
Fig. 1A: Analysis of short axis: Segmentation of the left ventricle

尽管心肌梗死的总效应(例如图 1 所示)可在短轴 (SAX) 4 (4CV) 视图中通过目测轻松评估,但这并不能提供关于基本病理的任何定量信息,而这些信息对于大多数研究来说至关重要。为实现定量评估,采集了 3 个图像系列:2 个单片 IntraGate-FLASH cine 系列,其中一个以 2 室视图采集成像,另一个以 4 室视图采集成像,以及一个多片 IntraGate-FLASH cine SAX 扫描成像。评估时使用了第三方软件。

CardiacMouse_Fig1B.jpg
Fig. 1B – D: SAX views of a healthy mouse heart (B) and hearts 4 weeks after a myocardial infarction (C, D), shown in diastole

评估中的一个重要问题是仔细分割心外膜和心内膜边界(图 1A),对所有的图像都进行了该步骤(包括左心室从收缩末期到舒张末期阶段的所有图像)。获得的数值结果包括以 mL 计的收缩末期容积 (LVESV)、以 mL 计的舒张末期容积 (LVEDV)、以百分比计的左心室射血分数 (LVEF)、以 mL 计的每搏量以及心室质量 (LVM) 1B 1D 展示了健康小鼠心脏的 SAX 图像 (B) 与心肌梗死动物模型的 SAX 图像(CD)的对比。为获得这些图像,应用了冠状动脉左前降支阻塞。后壁 (C) 和侧壁 (D) 区域可观察到明显的室壁变薄。

CardiacMouse_Infarction.jpg
Significant differences occurred in the EF (C, reduced after infarction, p < 0.0001) and LVEDV (D, increased after infarction, p < 0.05)

2 展示了健康小鼠心脏(左图)以及心肌梗死四周后的小鼠心脏(应用了 LAD 阻塞)舒张期的 4 室图像 (4CV) 左心室明显增大,心肌层的心尖端部分变得非常薄。在这种情况下,没有应用额外的止血措施。

CardiacMouse_Fig2.jpg
Fig. 2: Four chamber views (4CV) of a healthy mouse heart (A) and a heart four weeks after a myocardial infarction (B), shown in diastole. Comparison of mice after infarction with control animals (n=8). Parameters derived from cardiac chamber quantificati

Andreas Pohlmann (1), Philipp Boyé (2), Babette Wagenhaus (1), Dominik Müller (2), Mateusz, Kolanczyk (3), Jeanette Schulz-Menger (2) Thoralf Niendorf (1, 2)1) 柏林超高场研究机构,马克斯•德尔布吕克分子医学中心 (MDC),德国柏林2) 实验与临床研究中心,Charité 医学院,Berlin-Buch 校区,德国3) 发育与疾病研究组,马克斯普朗克分子遗传学研究所,德国柏林

了解更多

通过应用简报了解有关小鼠心脏 MR 成像的更多信息: 形态测量和功能评估联系客服代表了解布鲁克成像系统如何帮助您优化心脏成像

Functional Cardiac MR Imaging in Mice

Self gating techniques are very helpful alternatives for robust cardiac imaging without compromising the accuracy of the derived myocardial function parameters

Functional cardiac MR imaging (CMR) requires high muscle/blood contrast, full coverage of the cardiac cycle and high temporal resolution. For this purpose ECG is commonly used for cardiac gating. ECG being an electrical measurement is disturbed by interference with the magnetic field, which is pronounced at ultra high fields. The self gating technique IntraGate is a very helpful alternative for robust cardiac imaging without compromising the accuracy of the derived myocardial function parameters.

CardiacMouse_Fig1A.jpg
Fig. 1A: Analysis of short axis: Segmentation of the left ventricle

While gross effects of myocardial infarction, such as those shown in Fig. 1, can easily be visually assessed in the short axis (SAX) and 4 chamber (4CV) views, this does not provide any quantitative information about the underlying pathology, which is essential in most studies. For quantitative evaluation 3 image series have been acquired: 2 single slice IntraGate™-FLASH cine series, one in 2 chamber and one in 4CV view and one multi-slice IntraGate™-FLASH cine SAX scan. For evaluation a 3rd party software is used.

CardiacMouse_Fig1B.jpg
Fig. 1B – D: SAX views of a healthy mouse heart (B) and hearts 4 weeks after a myocardial infarction (C, D), shown in diastole

An important issue in the evaluation is a careful segmentation of epi- and endocardial borders (Fig. 1A) which has to be done for all slices covering the left ventricle for cardiac phases derived from end systole and end diastole. The numerical results obtained include the end systolic volume (LVESV) in ml, the end diastolic volume (LVEDV) in ml, the left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) in percent, the stroke volume in ml, and the ventricular mass (LVM). Figures 1 B to 1 D show a comparison of SAX views derived from a healthy mouse heart (B) with images obtained from animal models of myocardial infarction (C, D).  For this purpose occlusion of the left anterior descending LAD coronary artery was applied. Significant wall thinning can be observed for the segments in the posterior (C) and lateral (D) wall.

CardiacMouse_Infarction.jpg
Significant differences occurred in the EF (C, reduced after infarction, p < 0.0001) and LVEDV (D, increased after infarction, p < 0.05)

Figure 2 shows a four chamber view (4CV) of a healthy mouse heart (left) and a heart four weeks after a myocardial infarction (LAD occlusion) in diastole. The left ventricle is markedly enlarged and the apical segments of the myocardium are reduced to a very thin layer. In this case no extra blood suppression was applied.

CardiacMouse_Fig2.jpg
Fig. 2: Four chamber views (4CV) of a healthy mouse heart (A) and a heart four weeks after a myocardial infarction (B), shown in diastole. Comparison of mice after infarction with control animals (n=8). Parameters derived from cardiac chamber quantificati

Andreas Pohlmann (1), Philipp Boyé (2), Babette Wagenhaus (1), Dominik Müller (2), Mateusz, Kolanczyk (3), Jeanette Schulz-Menger (2) and Thoralf Niendorf (1, 2)
1) Berlin Ultrahigh Field Facility, Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine (MDC), Berlin, Germany
2) Experimental and Clinical Research Center, Charité University Medicine, Campus Berlin-Buch, Germany
3) Research Group Development and Disease, Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics, Berlin, Germany

Read more

Read more in Application Note Cardiac MRImaging in Mice: Morphometry and Functional Assessment
Contact a customer service representative to learn how a Bruker imaging systems can help you in Cardiac imaging optimisation