应用米非司酮改善胶质母细胞瘤移植瘤的放化疗效果

治疗致命疾病的新希望 — 放化疗增敏用于治疗胶质母细胞瘤

多形性胶质母细胞瘤作为最常见的中枢神经系统肿瘤,是一种具有侵袭性的癌症,患者确诊后的平均存活时间仅有 15 个月;其在大脑中的位置及容易快速扩散的特点严重限制了可选择的治疗手段及疗效。标准治疗手段包括外科手术及随后的放化疗。 不幸的是,即使采取这样组合治疗措施,肿瘤能够得到长期控制的患者也仅占所有患者的五分之一。

肿瘤增长主要依赖于新血管的生成。抗血管形成药物作为增加肿瘤对放化疗敏感性的药剂,在临床前研究中表现出良好的前景。在治疗中增加此类药物也许能为多形性胶质母细胞瘤患者的治疗带来更大的希望。

Monserrat Llaguno-Munive, Luis Alberto Medina, Rafael Jurado, Mario Romero-Piña Patricia Garcia-Lopez.Mifepristone improves chemo-radiation response in glioblastoma xenografts(应用米非司酮改善胶质母细胞瘤移植瘤的放化疗效果)Cancer Cell Int(《癌细胞国际研究》. 2013; 13: 29. 公共医学中心:PMC3626552.


最近的研究表明,星形细胞瘤(例如多形性胶质母细胞瘤)与血管内皮生长因子 (VEGF) 的过度表达之间存在关联,其促进了血管形成和生成孕酮受体,而孕酮受体可调节 VEGF 的表达和肿瘤增长。米非司酮作为一种抗孕激素和抗糖皮质激素药物,表现出对乳腺癌和卵巢癌的抗肿瘤活性,并且还可降低前列腺癌细胞中的 VEGF 表达。那么米非司酮能否改善胶质母细胞瘤的治疗效果呢?

Llaguno-Munive 及其同事测试了米非司酮对活体肿瘤增长和 VEGF 表达的抑制效果。对具有胶质母细胞瘤移植瘤的小鼠实施放疗,同时结合或不结合替莫唑胺化疗和/或米非司酮化疗。对照组小鼠不实施治疗。每周使用测径器测量肿瘤尺寸,作者发现在增加米非司酮治疗 15-20 天后,相较于未增加米非司酮治疗的实验组和对照组,增加米非司酮治疗的实验组小鼠的肿瘤增长明显减慢。

研究者使用 Bruker Albira 多模块成像系统的微型 PET X 射线计算机断层扫描 (CT) 成像,以肿瘤细胞中的 18F-氟脱氧葡萄糖 (FDG) 摄取为指标,追踪肿瘤代谢体积。使用 PMOD 软件 (PMOD Technologies, Ltd.) 通过测量整个肿瘤体积中的目标体积(带有放射标记的 FDG 的体积浓度)来确定 FDG 摄取量。米非司酮治疗组表现出肿瘤代谢体积减小的趋势,相较于仅实施放疗的实验组具有统计上显著的改善。根据聚合酶链式反应测定结果,与对照组相比,所有治疗均与 VEGF 表达的下降有关。

在该活体研究中,米非司酮作为增加肿瘤对放化疗敏感性的药剂表现出可观的治疗活性,并且没有出现任何系统毒性迹象。同时施用米非司酮和放疗以及替莫唑胺化疗与仅实施放疗或仅结合单一放化疗相比,表现出明显更强的抗肿瘤作用。作者的最终结论是,米非司酮是一种极具应用前景的候选药物,有助于改善胶质母细胞瘤的放化疗效果,为迫切需要更有效的新型治疗手段的患者来了新的希望。

Glioblastome.jpg
PET/CT images showing 18F-FDG tumor uptake. The groups are: Rad, Rad + Tmz, Rad + Mife and Rad + Tmz + Mife. Left images represent the beginning of treatment (baseline) and right images the end of the study (day 25). Red arrows indicate tumor location at

 

 

了解更多:

Mifepristone improves chemo-radiation response in glioblastoma xenografts

A promising approach to a deadly disease - radio-chemosensitization to combat glioblastoma

The most common type of central nervous system tumor, glioblastoma multiforme is an aggressive cancer with mean survival of only 15 months from diagnosis; its localization to the brain and tendency to spread quickly limit treatment options and effectiveness. Standard therapy includes surgery followed by radio- and chemotherapy. Unfortunately, even with this combination, long-term tumor control is possible in as few as one-in-five patients.

Tumor growth depends heavily on creation of new blood vessels. Anti-angiogenic drugs have shown promise in preclinical studies as agents to sensitize tumors to chemo- and radiotherapy. Perhaps supplementation with such a drug could improve the outlook for glioblastoma patients.

Monserrat Llaguno-Munive, Luis Alberto Medina, Rafael Jurado, Mario Romero-Piña, and Patricia Garcia-Lopez. Mifepristone improves chemo-radiation response in glioblastoma xenografts. Cancer Cell Int. 2013; 13: 29. PMCID: PMC3626552.

Recent studies have associated astrocytomas such as glioblastoma with elevated expression of vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF), which encourages angiogenesis, as well as progesterone receptors, which mediate an increase in both VEGF expression and tumor growth. The anti-progestin and anti-glucocorticoid drug mifepristone shows anti-tumor activity in breast and ovarian cancers, and has also been associated with decreased VEGF expression in prostate cancer cells. Could mifepristone improve outcomes in glioblastoma?

Llaguno-Munive and colleagues tested the effects of mifepristone on tumor growth and VEGF expression in vivo. Mice with glioblastoma xenografts were treated with radiation therapy, with or without temozolamide chemotherapy and/or mifepristone. Control mice received no treatment. Measuring tumor size weekly using calipers, the authors found significant reductions in tumor growth after 15-20 days of treatment supplemented by mifepristone, relative to non-mifepristone treatment groups and controls.

The researchers tracked metabolic tumor volume as reflected in 18F-fludeoxyglucose (FDG) uptake by tumor cells, using microPET and X-ray computed tomography (CT) imaging on a Bruker Albira multimodal imaging system. FDG uptake was measured using the volume of interest - the volume concentration of the radio-labeled FDG - across the entire tumor volume, using PMOD software (PMOD Technologies, Ltd.). The mifepristone treatment groups showed a trend toward smaller metabolic tumor volumes, with a statistically significant improvement versus radiation therapy alone. All treatments were associated with reduced VEGF expression versus controls, measured by polymerase chain reaction.

Mifepristone showed promising activity as a chemo-radiotherapy sensitizing agent in this in vivo study, without signs of systemic toxicity. Simultaneous administration of mifepristone with radiation therapy and temozolamide chemotherapy produced a significantly greater anti-tumor effect compared to radiation or combined radiation and chemotherapy alone. The authors conclude that mifepristone is a good candidate to improve the effectiveness of chemo-radiotherapy in glioblastoma, a new hope for patients in great need.

Glioblastome.jpg
PET/CT images showing 18F-FDG tumor uptake. The groups are: Rad, Rad + Tmz, Rad + Mife and Rad + Tmz + Mife. Left images represent the beginning of treatment (baseline) and right images the end of the study (day 25). Red arrows indicate tumor location at

 

 

Learn more: