Post-Translational Modifications in Proteomics and Cell Signaling

March 10, 2022

8 am PST, 11 am EST, 5 pm CET

Webinar Overview

Post-translational modifications (PTMs) of protein molecules play a critical role in health and disease and drive the signaling within a cell. The ability to detect and discern these alterations could provide a much greater understanding of their influence on the proteome and genomic regulation, ultimately leading to improved insights into genetic and epigenetic mechanisms. However, analysis of PTMs presents several challenges to protein and proteomics researchers. As such, investigators continue to search for sensitive detection methods for PTMs. In recent years, the exquisite sensitivity, selectivity, and throughput of mass spectrometry have made it the analytical technique of choice.

In this GEN webinar our distinguished presenters, Dr. John Yates III and Dr. Kosuke Ogata will describe how they use cutting-edge mass spectrometry, including timsTOF technology, to elucidate and quantify PTMs on an array of protein molecules. 

Speaker

John Yates III, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Molecular Medicine, The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, CA, USA

Kosuke Ogata, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Kyoto University, Japan

 

For Research Use Only. Not for use in clinical diagnostic procedures.