Ims3 banner
I?S, microfocus source, sc-xrd component

IμS avec rayonnement de l'argent

I?S with Silver Radiation
IμS with Silver Radiation

Le D8 QUEST est doté de la première source à microfocus au monde, disponible avec la radiation argent. Cette microsource IμS est combinée avec l'optique multicouches HELIOS spécialement conçue à cet effet. Comparée à un système conventionnel de tube scellé Ag, la densité du flux est de l’ordre de grandeur plus intéressant.

La longueur d'onde caractéristique (0,56083 Å) de la cible à argent est la longueur d'onde la plus courte qui est disponible pour les systèmes internes.

 

L'utilisation de la radiation de l'argent donne la possibilité de mener des recherches de haut niveau sur des échantillons exigeants, en particulier dans les domaines de la minéralogie, de la chimie de l'état solide et des recherches sur la densité de la charge. La radiation de l'argent permet de collecter des données avec une résolution jusqu'à 30% plus élevée tout en minimisant les effets d'absorption.

Application - Étude de la densité des électrons

lap_ims_only.jpg
L (r) in the valence region of the Co atom
Residual Electron Density Map
Residual Electron Density Map (cut at 0.8 Å-1, contours at 0.05eÅ-3 interval)

Le laplacien de la densité de la charge du Sc3CoC4 déterminé à partir des données collectées avec une Ag-IμS correspond largement au modèle théorique et aux données de référence citées dans J. Chem. Soc. 2007, 129, 9356- 9656. Prof. Wolfgang Scherer, Université d'Augsburg, Allemagne

Ims3 banner
I?S, microfocus source, sc-xrd component

IμS with Silver Radiation

I?S with Silver Radiation
IμS with Silver Radiation

The D8 QUEST features the world’s first microfocus source available with a silver tube. This IμS is combined with the specially designed HELIOS multilayer optics. Compared to a conventional Ag sealed tube system the flux density is an order of magnitude better.

The characteristic wavelength (0.56083 Å) of the silver target is the shortest wavelength available for in-house systems.

 

The use of silver radiation opens the possibility for high-end investigations of challenging samples particularly in the fields of mineralogy, solid-state chemistry and charge density investigations. Silver radiation allows the collection of data up to 30% higher resolution and at the same time minimizes absorption effects.

Application - Electron density studies

lap_ims_only.jpg
L (r) in the valence region of the Co atom
Residual Electron Density Map
Residual Electron Density Map (cut at 0.8 Å-1, contours at 0.05eÅ-3 interval)

The Laplacian of the charge density of Sc3CoC4 determined from data collected with an Ag IμS is very consistent with the theoretical model and reference data quoted in J. Chem. Soc. 2007, 129, 9356- 9656. Prof. Wolfgang Scherer, University of Augsburg, Germany