Ims3 banner
I?S, microfocus source, sc-xrd component

IμS mit Silberstrahlung

I?S with Silver Radiation
IμS with Silver Radiation

Das D8 QUEST besitzt die weltweit erste Mikrofokus-Röntgenquelle mit Silberröhre. Diese IμS-Röntgenquelle wird mit den speziell entwickelten HELIOS-Multilayer-Optiken kombiniert. Im Vergleich zu einem konventionellen System mit geschlossener Ag-Röhre ist die Flussdichte eine Größenordnung besser.

Die charakteristische Wellenlänge (0,56083 Å) des Silbertargets ist die kürzeste verfügbare Wellenlänge für In-House-Systeme.

 

Der Einsatz von Silberstrahlung ermöglicht die High-End-Analyse von anspruchsvollen Proben, insbesondere in den Bereichen Mineralogie, Festkörperchemie und Ladungsdichteforschung. Silberstrahlung ermöglicht die Datenerfassung bei einer bis zu 30% höheren Auflösung und minimiert gleichzeitig Absorptionseffekte.

Anwendungsbeispiel: Untersuchung der Elektronendichte

lap_ims_only.jpg
L (r) in the valence region of the Co atom
Residual Electron Density Map
Residual Electron Density Map (cut at 0.8 Å-1, contours at 0.05eÅ-3 interval)

Der Laplace-Operator der Ladungsdichte von Sc3CoC4, der anhand der mit einer Ag-IμS erfassten Daten ermittelt wurde, stimmt weitgehend mit dem theoretischen Modell und den Referenzdaten von J. Chem. Soc. 2007, 129, 9356- 9656. Prof. Wolfgang Scherer, Universität Augsburg, Deutschland überein.

Ims3 banner
I?S, microfocus source, sc-xrd component

IμS with Silver Radiation

I?S with Silver Radiation
IμS with Silver Radiation

The D8 QUEST features the world’s first microfocus source available with a silver tube. This IμS is combined with the specially designed HELIOS multilayer optics. Compared to a conventional Ag sealed tube system the flux density is an order of magnitude better.

The characteristic wavelength (0.56083 Å) of the silver target is the shortest wavelength available for in-house systems.

 

The use of silver radiation opens the possibility for high-end investigations of challenging samples particularly in the fields of mineralogy, solid-state chemistry and charge density investigations. Silver radiation allows the collection of data up to 30% higher resolution and at the same time minimizes absorption effects.

Application - Electron density studies

lap_ims_only.jpg
L (r) in the valence region of the Co atom
Residual Electron Density Map
Residual Electron Density Map (cut at 0.8 Å-1, contours at 0.05eÅ-3 interval)

The Laplacian of the charge density of Sc3CoC4 determined from data collected with an Ag IμS is very consistent with the theoretical model and reference data quoted in J. Chem. Soc. 2007, 129, 9356- 9656. Prof. Wolfgang Scherer, University of Augsburg, Germany