Bruker
Produkte & Lösungen
Anwendungen
Service
News & Events
Über uns
Karriere

Practical Applications of TXRF in Fruits, Beverages, Wines and Fining Agents

This webinar will take place on March 18, 2021

 

SESSION I: Thursday, March 18 

  • 10 am CET / Berlin
  • 5 pm SGT / Singapore 
  • 6 pm JST / Tokyo

 

SESSION II: Thursday, March 18

  • 5 pm CET / Berlin
  • 8 am PST / Los Angeles 
  • 11 am EST / New York

Overview

This webinar will demonstrate the application of benchtop Total Reflection X-ray Fluorescence (TXRF) spectrometers for wine, beer, juice and fruits. It will highlight the ease of sample preparation of liquids, pastes, suspensions and solids avoiding laborious digestion procedures with hazardous chemicals.

TXRF is generally applicable for the purity control of processing aids and additives in food and beverage production. Fining agents such as bentonites or kieselguhrs can be analyzed directly or after the elution of soluble elements in wine or beverage model solutions. Herein, the concentration of elements in different parts of the fruit of different origin in pineapples and pineapple products is presented. Another topic is evaluating packing materials that come into contact with beverages and may lead to substantial contamination with heavy metals which is not in compliance with modern hygiene and good manufacturing practice (GMP).

The analysis of metals, especially copper and iron, during the beer brewing process is important as they have a big effect on the quality and taste of the final product. Other elements like Ca, Mg and Zn are deliberately introduced in the form of salts to control production processes during and after the brewing process. TXRF was successfully applied for the analysis of filtered and unfiltered wort as well as beers after an easy and fast sample preparation.

Whether you are interested in quality control, research and development or cost-reduction of analytical services, this webinar will give you the information you need on the capabilities of most modern TXRF techniques.

There will be a 15 minutes Q&A session where our experts will answer your questions.

Who should attend?

  • Quality control and safety assurance managers and technical assistants from the nutrition/food industry
  • Researchers at institutions for nutritional sciences
  • Scientists at institutes for food engineering and biotechnology
  • Employees at institutions for public health, occupational safety and environmental protection

You can’t attend the live webinar?

Register upfront for the on-demand version and we will send you a link to later viewing the recording at your convenience.

Speakers

Dr. Armin Gross

Global Product Manager TXRF, Bruker Nano Analytics

Dr. Hagen Stosnach

Application Scientist TXRF, Bruker Nano Analytics

Dr. Claus-Dieter Patz

Department of Beverage Research, Geisenheim University