history-banner.jpg

1960 - 1965:创立

布鲁克公司的成立主要归功于一个人。Günther Laukien 1952 年搬到斯图加特实验物理研究所之前在图宾根大学从事物理研究。致力于 NMR 研究的他在博士后期间开展了 NMR 光谱研究,并于 1958 年发表了一篇关于高频核磁共振的开创性论文。这篇文章介绍了当时所了解的理论知识,同时也涵盖了构建实验系统的实用性内容。在 1960 年,他被任命为卡尔斯鲁厄实验物理学教授。

在那一时期,美国的实验室已经建立了第一批用于分析化学领域的高分辨 NMR 系统。Laukien 教授意识到了此项技术的强大之处以及对尚未投入商品化生产的脉冲光谱仪的迫切需求。为了满足这一需求,他创立了自己的公司。

1965 – 1970:NMR 技术的领导者

Spectrospin AG 的成立促使了与布鲁克紧密合作与牢固协同关系的形成。制造协议的引入证明布鲁克在专心研究磁体和电源的同时放弃了发展高分辨仪器,使得 Spectrospin AG 专注于高分辨仪器而同时放弃了 EPR 的发展。他们共同启动了一个目标宏伟的开发项目,最终推出第一台全晶体管 NMR 仪器 HFX 90,并将这台仪器送交给了柏林工业大学。

1970 - 1975:走向全球

在二十世纪六十年代,如果想要在分析仪器市场占有一席之地,很显然必须要扩大全球影响力并为客户和研究人员提供地区级的服务与支持。
 
我们朝这个目标迈出的第一步就是成立北美办事处  一个不断发展的 NMR 研究中心。尽管美国公司最初占据了主导地位,布鲁克还是凭借其技术优势和在 NMR 领域的广泛认可度实现了快速成长。
 
很快,我们在法国成立了布鲁克股份有限公司,该公司位于 Wissenbourg 的工厂已经开始生产系统部件和子组件。在二十世纪六十年代末和七十年代初,我们不断在欧洲的英国和意大利等地成立了更多销售办事处。

1969 年在苏联喀山 EPR 研发 25 周年的庆典zhong中,布鲁克宣布将业务进一步扩展至当时的苏联。我们在以色列成立的新办事处进一步巩固了与魏茨曼研究所已经建立的关系。

 
1972 年,布鲁克已经将业务扩展到了澳大利亚;1975 年布鲁克来到中国,凭借在北京瑞士工业展览会上的成功亮相而迅速销售出了两台 WH 90 系统,此系统是首批仅带有 FT NMR 光谱仪。布鲁克韩国和台湾销售办事处的成立紧随其后,并于 1976 年在日本开办了第一家工厂。随着第一台仪器在委内瑞拉安装完成,布鲁克在南美洲也取得了成功。
 
在全球扩张急速进行的时代,分析仪器市场的进一步发展很显然需要依托于更多新型分析技术的进步。

1974 - 1999:新型分析技术

布鲁克于二十世纪七十年代开始开发新型红外光谱仪。1974 年推出的 IFS 110 是一条极其成功的产品线的开端,它使得布鲁克光谱部门最终得以成立。如今,布鲁克光谱提供了全面的振动光谱产品线,其中既包括了世界上最小的常规应用台式 FT-IR 光谱仪,又涵盖了世界上分辨率最高的高级研究领域的 FT-IR

布鲁克在 NMR 领域已具备的强大实力自然而然地造就了其在磁共振成像 (MRI) 领域的发展。成立于 1976 年的 Bruker Medizintechnik (Medical) GmbH 最初供应各种移动式除颤器。在之后的十年中,布鲁克已开发出并持续生产用于临床和临床前应用的基于 NMR 的断层扫描系统,并最终制造出全身临床 MRI 仪器。随着时间的推移,布鲁克选择将关注焦点转向临床前系统,并成为该领域目前的市场领导者  Bruker BioSpin MRI

 

Dr. Franzen Analysentechnik”作为 Atlas MAT 的分公司,于 1977 年在不来梅成立。布鲁克在几年后的 1980 年收购了这家公司并将其改名为“Bruker-Franzen Analytik”,这一举动为布鲁克产品家族增添了强大的四极杆质谱仪成员。在同年,第一台移动式检测系统 MM1 在民用市场和军用市场均大获成功。1997 年,Bruker-Franzen Analytik GmbH 更名为 Bruker Daltonik GmbH。选择这个名称是为了纪念 John Dalton 在构建物质原子结构理论方面所做出的贡献。二十世纪八十年代末开发的电喷雾和 MALDI 两种新型电离技术实现了对生物分子的电离和分析。这为质谱在分子生物学和分子医学领域的应用铺平了道路。这为质谱在分子生物学和分子医学领域的应用铺平了道路。

1997 年布鲁克收购了 Siemens AG X 射线光谱部门,其中包括在卡尔斯鲁厄和威斯康辛州麦迪逊的主要生产基地。商业发展与更多企业收购相结合,使得 Bruker AXS 一跃成为 X 射线分析仪器的领先供应商,从而大大扩充了布鲁克技术产品的阵容。

2000 - 2012:布鲁克公司

为了适应发展步伐、满足现代市场的需求,布鲁克公司于 2000 年开始进行内部机构重组。布鲁克道尔顿集团是首个在纳斯达克证券交易所上市的布鲁克公司,Bruker AXS 很快在 2001 年也紧随其后。2003 年,布鲁克道尔顿和 AXS 合并组建为一家上市公司,布鲁克光谱在 2006 年也加入其中。在 2008 年,随着企业“元老”磁共振部门 Bruker BioSpin 的加入,所有布鲁克企业单位的合并宣告完成。整合带来的协同效益很快在产品开发、生产和销售方面得到了体现,使组合系统的开发为客户带来了巨大收益。

总公司的统一带领下,布鲁克公司纳斯达克BRKR创造了分析仪器领域最强大的品牌之一。

history-banner.jpg

History of Bruker

1960 - 1965: The Beginnings

The formation of the Bruker Company is principally down to one man. Günther Laukien studied physics at Tübingen before moving to the Institute for Experimental Physics in Stuttgart in 1952.  Dedicating himself to NMR, he conducted post-doctoral studies in NMR Spectroscopy and in 1958 published a pioneering paper on high-frequency nuclear magnetic resonance. This paper described the theoretical aspects of what was known at the time, while also covering the practical aspects of constructing experimental systems.  In 1960, he was appointed Professor for Experimental Physics in Karlsruhe.

Around that time, laboratories in the US were already building the first high-resolution NMR systems for use in analytical chemistry.  Prof. Laukien recognized the power in this technique and the need for an impulse spectrometer not yet produced commercially.  He set out to fill this need by establishing his own company.

1965 - 1970: Technological Leadership in NMR

The establishment of Spectrospin AG set the scene for close cooperation and a strong synergistic relationship with Bruker. The introduction of manufacturing agreements saw Bruker specialize in magnets and power supplies while simultaneously closing down its development of high resolution instruments, leaving Spectrospin AG to focus on the high-resolution instruments and equally close down its development of EPR. Together, they embarked on an ambitious development project that ultimately introduced the first fully transistorized NMR instrument, the HFX 90, the first of which was delivered to the Technical University of Berlin.

1970 - 1975: Going Global

During the 1960’s, it became evident that to be a key player in the analytical instrument market, an increased global presence was needed with service and support for customers and researchers at a local level.
 
The first step in this direction had been made with the establishment of an office in North America, a growing center of NMR research.  Despite the initial dominance of US-based companies, Bruker grew rapidly due to its technological superiority and its widespread acceptance within the NMR community.
 
Soon, Bruker SA was established in France, where facilities in Wissenbourg began to produce system components and sub-assemblies. The establishment of additional sales offices in Europe, including the UK and Italy, continued through the late 1960s and early 1970s.
 
In 1969, during the 25th anniversary of the discovery of EPR in Kazan Russia, Bruker announced further expansion into what was then the USSR. A new office was also established in Israel, further strengthening an already-established relationship with the Weizman Institute.
 
By 1972, Bruker’s expansion had reached Australia, and in 1975 Bruker arrived in China, where a successful appearance at the Swiss Industrial Exhibition in Beijing resulted in the immediate sale of two WH 90 systems—the first FT-only NMR spectrometers. South Korea and Taiwan sales offices soon followed, and in 1976 Bruker opened its first facility in Japan. Bruker was also successful in South America, with the first instrument installations taking place in Venezuela.
 
During this time of rapid global expansion, it became apparent that further growth in the market of analytical instrumentation would require the expansion into additional and new analytical technologies.

1974 - 1999: New Analytical Technologies

Bruker began the development of new infrared spectrometers in the 1970s. Launched in 1974, the IFS 110 was the beginning of a very successful product line that ultimately led to the foundation of the Bruker Optics division. Today, Bruker Optics offers a comprehensive vibrational spectroscopy product-line that includes both the world’s smallest benchtop FT-IR spectrometer for routine use, and the world’s highest resolution FT-IR for advanced research applications.

Bruker’s already established strengths in NMR naturally led to developments in the field of Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI).  Bruker Medizintechnik (Medical) GmbH was formed in 1976, initially offering a range of mobile defibrillators.  Later in the decade, Bruker had developed and was producing NMR-based tomography systems for use in clinical and pre-clinical applications, leading eventually to whole-body clinical MRI instrumentation.
Over time, Bruker chose to shift its focus towards pre-clinical systems and became Bruker BioSpin MRI, the currently market leader in the field.

In 1977 “Dr. Franzen Analysentechnik” was founded in Bremen as a spin-off company from Atlas MAT. A few years later, in 1980, Bruker acquired this company and renamed it “Bruker-Franzen Analytik”, adding robust quadrupole mass spectrometers to the Bruker portfolio. That same year the first mobile detection system, the MM1, proved successful in both the civilian and military markets. In 1997 Bruker-Franzen Analytik GmbH was renamed Bruker Daltonik GmbH. The name was chosen to honor John Dalton for his work in formulating the theory of the atomic structure of matter. The development of two new ionization procedures in the late 1980s, electrospray and MALDI, enabled the ionization and analysis of biomolecules. This paved the way for the application of mass spectrometry in molecular biology and molecular medicine. With the spectrometers being continuously enhanced, Bruker mass spectrometry experienced unexpected growth.

In 1997 Bruker acquired the X-ray spectroscopy division of Siemens AG, which included prime manufacturing facilities in Karlsruhe and Madison, Wisconsin. Commercial growth, combined with additional company acquisitions, quickly launched Bruker AXS as a leading provider of X-ray analytical instrumentation, significantly extending Bruker’s technology portfolio.

2000 - Current: Bruker Corporation

Organizational restructuring within Bruker began in 2000, as the company adapted to meet the needs of modern markets. The Bruker Daltonics group was the first of the Bruker companies to be listed on the NASDAQ stock exchange, soon followed by Bruker AXS in 2001. In 2003 Bruker Daltonics and AXS merged to form a single listed company. In 2006, they were joined by Bruker Optics. The merger of all Bruker corporate units was completed in 2008 upon the addition of Bruker BioSpin, the magnetic resonance division that started it all. The synergies resulting from the integration was quickly recognized within product development, production and sales, leading to the development of combined systems delivering unique customer benefits.
Unification under a single parent company—the Bruker Corporation (NASDAQ:  BRKR) created one of the strongest brands in analytical instrumentation.´