分析

研究人工制品,探索更广阔的世界

 

HHXRF(手持X线荧光仪)测量用黑曜石制成的箭头和刮刀等,是研究迁移及早期贸易路线的最佳工具。使用已测量的黑曜石中的微量元素图谱,将它们与通过其他黑曜石制品和来源编制的数据库比较,可以追本溯源。在Colby和Speakman的论文中可以找到示例:

 

用便携式XRF鉴定来自俄罗斯远东千岛群岛的考古黑曜石的最初来源(《考古学杂志》(2009),doi: 10.1016/j.jas.2009.01.014)

 

 

Obsidian Arrowhead
Obsidian arrowhead
Obsidian on the ground
Obsidian rock

 

类似方法也可用黑硅石进行。确定陶瓷来源更困难,因为这些物品极少和黑曜石一样均质。此时用微量元素比值将陶瓷或建筑石块中的无着色部分与当地或非当地来源联系起来,以确定原始材料来源于哪里。

  • 早期或修正后的陶瓷出处说明及Peter Graves的石斧海报
Spectra ratio
Spectra showing ratio of elements

 

轻量化的手持式TRACER XRF如今可让研究人员分析世界各地保存完好、文件齐全的收藏品,从而向数据库中添加更多数据。

 

作为一种研究工具,基于XRF的TRACER方法尤其适合,因为除无损测量外,研究人员还可通过来自样品的光子能量分布研究直接光谱,无需进行任何进一步处理。

 

样品中所含元素的特征发射光谱也可以反映元素分布的不均匀性。

 

通过BRUKER ELEMENTAL的免费研讨会(链接),研究人员可以邀请我们的科学家通过亲身示范解释XRF是如何工作的以及如何用它进行复杂的元素测定。XRF非常适合用于分析古代合金的组成,而借助最近开发出的标准物质,它可以完成更多的定量工作,这在将来的某一天可让我们更好地了解过去金属是如何被锻造和加工的。

  • (利用来自时事通讯的铜的组成分析链接)

 

虽然对样品有破坏,但EDS(能谱仪)微分析被广泛地用作司法鉴定工具及材料科学研究工具:

  • 应用光谱成像
  • 常规分析快速捕集网络研讨会(链接)将总结应用
  • 通过陨石材料扫描电镜(SEM)分析及微区XRF分析获得的EDS数据,可让研究人员追踪这些材料在太阳系之外的来源。(网络研讨会:X线地质和采矿勘探)

 

振动光谱仪以其所有仪器设置可让我们鉴定有机样品中所含的化合物及功能团。拉曼光谱仪还可让我们确定矿物成分,与不用二维探测器时属于有损测量方法的XRD不同的是,它可以无创检测化合物。

  • 光学页面网络研讨会链接“用红外和拉曼光谱仪进行艺术品的化学分析”-20090610 1603

banner_environmental_art_con.jpg

Analysis

Researching artifacts to help see the big picture

HHXRF is a perfect tool for the study of migration and early trade routes using OBSIDIAN based artifacts such as arrow heads and scrapers. Using the trace element fingerprint of the measured obsidian, measured with a traceable obsidian calibration and comparing them to a database compiled  from other obsidian artifacts and sources, it is possible to trace the origin. An example can be found in the paper by  Colby and Speakman:

  • Initial source evaluation of archaeological obsidian from the Kuril Islands of the Russian Far East using portable-XRF (Journal of Archaeological Science (2009), doi: 10.1016/j.jas.2009.01.014)
Obsidian Arrowhead
Obsidian arrowhead
Obsidian.jpg
Obsidian rock

A similar approach can be applied using chert. The use of origin determination of ceramics is more difficult since these objects are rarely as homogeneous as volcanic glass. This time trace element RATIOS are used to correlate the pigment free part of the ceramics, or building blocks, to local or not so local sources to establish where the original source material came from.

  • old or reworked Appnote on Ceramics provenance and the stone hatchet poster by Peter Graves
Spectra_ratio.jpg
Spectra showing ratio of elements

The light weight hand held TRACER XRF now enables researchers to add more and more data to the database by analyzing well preserved and documented collections all thru the world.

As a tool for research the TRACER approach with XRF is especially suitable since apart from being non destructive the researcher can investigate the direct spectra with the energy distribution of the photons from the sample without any further processing.
The spectrum which originates from the characteristic emissions of the elements present in the sample also reflects the inhomogeneity’s of the elemental distribution.

Using BRUKER ELEMENTAL’s free seminars (link) researchers can invite our scientists to explain with hands on group demonstration how XRF works and how it can be used to perform cutting edge elemental determinations. XRF is well suited to analyze the composition of ancient alloys and recently new reference material was created to enable more quantitative work, which will one day in the near future enable us to understand better how metal was worked and processed in the past.

  • (use link to compositional analysis of cu… from newsletter)

EDS Microanalysis, although invasive for the sample, is used extensively as a forensic and material science research tool:

  • Practical Spectrum Imaging
  • Rapid Collection for Routine Analysis webinar ( link ) summarizes the applications!
  • EDS data obtained from an SEM on meteoritic materials and micro XRF allows researcher to trace them back to sources outside of our solar system.
    (Webinar on: X-ray Expeditions into Geosciences and Mining)

Vibrational spectroscopy, in all of its instrumental setups, allow us to ID the chemical compounds and functional groups present in an organic sample. Raman spectroscopy furthermore enables to identify the mineralogical composition, and unlike XRD which is a destructive technique when not used with 2D detectors, it can determine compounds non-invasively.

  • Link to webinar on optics page Utilization of Infrared and Raman Spectroscopy for the Chemical Analysis of Art-20090610 1603