原理

蛋白质功能背后的化学和物理原理只能通过深入了解其结构与动态特性才能得以阐明。在多种较低的磁场强度下测得的弛豫以及在高磁场强度下以高光谱分辨率测得的弛豫可提供与蛋白质结构相关的动态信息。采用样品转移梭测量弛豫:„

  •   在高场中极化。 „
  •   在各种低磁场中弛豫。 „
  •   在高场中检测。

Shuttle nmr fig1

1 高分辨率弛豫的原理。

硬件

转移梭由专用探头(图 2ab)、转移梭传送系统以及用于控制压缩空气驱动的转移梭移动的气动控制单元组成。该探头在 TXO 配置下针对 13C15N1H 2H(锁定)进行了调谐。该探头的特有功能是具有振动阻尼系统,能够最大程度减小转移梭的快速移动造成的影响,从而实现液体高分辨率 NMR 所需的谱图分辨率和线形。采用特殊的石英材料制造蛋白质样品的样品容器(图 2c)。

Shuttle nmr fig2 new

2 转移梭设置 a) 气动样品梭动,b) 三共振探头,c) 转移梭容器

结果

7 种不同的低磁场中 (1) 记录的 3 mM 15N 标记的泛素的纵向弛豫速率的首批结果如图 3 所示。另外,还记录了全套传统 15N 弛豫实验的结果,这些实验中未实施 14.118.8 22.3 T 下的梭动,并且采用了尖端方法以鉴别和消除交叉关联的影响。

Shuttle nmr fig3

3 a) 15N 纵向弛豫的脉冲序列,b) 15N 纵向弛豫谱图,c) 10 种不同磁场下的15N 纵向弛豫速率,d) 泛素的序参数。

1) C. Charlier, S. N. Khan, T. Marquardsen, P. Pelupessy, V. Reiss, D. Sakellariou, G. Bodenhausen, F. Engelke, F. Ferrage, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2013, 135, 18665.

总结

·         将多种磁场下的弛豫数据与高分辨率 NMR 数据相结合,可提供与结构信息相关的蛋白质动力学信息。

·         将高分辨率转移梭 NMR 弛豫测量仪„作为高分辨率 NMR 波谱仪的分析进程附件,有助于进行蛋白质结构和动力学研究。

Shuttle NMR Relaxometry

Principle

The chemical and physical principles underlying protein function can only be unraveled by gaining insight into both structural and dynamic features. Relaxation measured at various lower field strengths and detected at high field with high spectral resolution provides dynamic information linked to structure. Relaxometry with a sample shuttle: „

  • Polarization at high field. „
  • Relaxation at a wide range of low fields. „
  • Detection at high field.
Fig. 1 Principle of high-resolution relaxometry.

Fig. 1 Principle of high-resolution relaxometry.

Hardware

The shuttle consists of a dedicated probe (Figure 2a,b), a shuttle transfer system, and a pneumatic control unit for the shuttle motion driven by pressurized air. The probe is tuned 13C, 15N, 1H and 2H (lock) in TXO configuration. A special feature of the probe is its vibration damping system to minimize the impact of the fast shuttle motion thus achieving a spectral resolution and line shapes necessary for liquids highresolution NMR. A special quartz material is used as a sample container for the protein samples (Figure 2c).

Fig. 2 Shuttle setup a) Pneumatic sample shuttling, b) Triple-resonance probe, c) Shuttle container

Fig. 2 Shuttle setup a) Pneumatic sample shuttling, b) Triple-resonance probe, c) Shuttle container

Results

First results of longitudinal relaxation rates with 3mM 15N-labeled ubiquitin were recorded at 7 different low magnetic fields (1) shown in Figure 3 . In addition, a full set of conventional 15N relaxation experiments was recorded without shuttling at 14.1, 18.8, and 22.3 T using state-of-the-art methods to identify and cancel crosscorrelation effects.

Fig. 3 a) Pulse sequence for 15N longitudinal relaxation, b) 15N longitudinal relaxation spectra, c) 15N longitudinal relaxation rates at 10 different magnetic fields, d) Order parameters in Ubiquitin.

Fig. 3 a) Pulse sequence for 15N longitudinal relaxation, b) 15N longitudinal relaxation spectra, c) 15N longitudinal relaxation rates at 10 different magnetic fields, d) Order parameters in Ubiquitin.

1) C. Charlier, S. N. Khan, T. Marquardsen, P. Pelupessy, V. Reiss, D. Sakellariou, G. Bodenhausen, F. Engelke, F. Ferrage, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2013, 135, 18665.

Summary

  • „Combining relaxation data at various fields with highresolution NMR data provides information on protein dynamics associated with structural information.
  • „The high-resolution shuttle NMR relaxometer as an work in progress accessory to high-resolution NMR spectrometers enables the study of protein structure and dynamics.