矿化组织(例如骨骼和牙齿)是天然的 X 射线造影剂,因此它们适于 microCT 成像

矿化组织是具有含矿物质的软基质的组织,例如骨骼和牙齿,通常提供结构支撑和保护。这些组织中存在的矿物质可同时提供刚度、强度和低重量。它们高度有序的分层有利于传递负载和应力,导致能量耗散。这使得损伤分散在这些分层结构内,从而防止它们裂开。

已经使用许多技术来表征这些矿化组织,包括 X 射线衰减法microCT。有些矿化组织(例如肾结石)是通过病理过程而不是健康生理过程形成的。因此,研究生物矿化可能是了解某些疾病的关键。

也许 microCT 最大和最长时间的应用是研究骨质疏松症,它通常影响老年人,特别是女性。 在涉及使用大鼠和小鼠模型的临床前研究中,microCT 可提供测量骨结构的有效方法。它可以无损方式提供动物中任何部位骨结构的高度详细的 3D 图像,保持样品完整用于遗传和组织学分析。 

其中 microCT 可用于大鼠或小鼠死后解剖样品或人体活检样品的体外分析,布鲁克的 SkyScan 系列 microCT 扫描仪也可用于体内分析,其中可研究活体麻醉动物的骨骼。

近年来,microCT  广泛用于牙科学中分析骨骼和牙齿组织中矿物质密度分布并评估牙科生物材料的微观结构。由于 microCT 可提供可靠的纵向数据,因此它有助于龋齿的研究,提供关于损伤形成以及重新矿化的体积信息。

Mineralized tissues such as bone and teeth lend themselves to microCT imaging because of natural X-ray contrast

Mineralized tissues are tissues such as bone and teeth that have mineral-containing soft matrices and, generally, provide structural support or protection. The minerals present in these tissues provide a combination of stiffness, strength and low weight. Their highly organized layering enables the transfer of loads and stresses that results in energy being dissipated. This enables damage to be distributed within these hierarchical structures, which prevents them from cracking.

Many techniques have been used to characterize these mineralized tissues, including the X-ray attenuation method microCT. Some mineralized tissues such as kidney stones are formed through pathological processes rather than healthy ones. Learning about biomineralization can therefore be key to understanding certain diseases.

Perhaps the biggest and longest standing application of microCT is in the study of osteoporosis, which usually affects people in their old age, especially women. In preclinical research, which involves the use of rat and mouse models, microCT provides an effective way of measuring bone structure. It gives a highly-detailed, 3D representation of the bone architecture in any site of the animal in a non-destructive way that leaves the sample intact for genetic and histological analysis. 

 

Where microCT can be used for ex vivo analysis of post-mortem dissected samples from rats or mice or of samples extracted from humans by biopsy, Bruker’s microCT scanners in the SkyScan range are also available for in vivo analysis, where bone can be studied in a living, anesthetised animal.

Over recent years, microCT has become widely used in dentistry to analyse mineral density distribution in bone and dental tissues and to assess the microstructure of dental biomaterials. Since microCT provides robust, longitudinal data, it has become useful in the study of caries, giving volumetric information on the formation of lesions, as well as remineralization.