葡萄糖摄取的 PET 成像

葡萄糖摄取的 PET 研究揭示了小鼠大脑的夜间峰值

葡萄糖摄取和活体使用情况的三维测定提供了关于大脑、心脏、肌肉及其它组织代谢状态和活性的重要指标。PET 成像使用标记有发射正电子的放射性核素的 18F-氟脱氧葡萄糖 (FDG) 分子,揭示了细胞从血液中摄取葡萄糖的过程。FDG 用于临床前及临床成像,主要用于筛查癌症转移。

FDG 用于临床前及临床成像,主要用于筛查癌症转移。根据进行扫描的那一天中时间点的不同,组织中葡萄糖摄取的任何昼夜节律周期都将影响 PET 结果。

 

Van der Veen DR, Shao J, Chapman S, Leevy WM, Duffield GE. A 24-hour temporal profile of in vivo brain and heart pet imaging reveals a nocturnal peak in brain 18F-fluorodeoxyglucose uptake(活体大脑和心脏 PET 成像的 24 小时时间曲线:揭示大脑 18F-氟脱氧葡萄糖摄取的夜间峰值).PLoS One 2012;7:e31792.公共医学中心:PMC3285174

此前,有研究者使用 2-脱氧-D[14C]-葡萄糖 (2DG) 追踪葡萄糖的使用情况,结果表明,仅少数大脑区域具有清晰的 24 小时节律。 此前,有研究者使用 2-脱氧-D[14C]-葡萄糖 (2DG) 追踪葡萄糖的使用情况,结果表明,仅少数大脑区域具有清晰的 24 小时节律。然而,它无法反映整个个体活体葡萄糖摄取随时间变化的规律。

为研究昼夜节律周期的问题,Van der Veen 及其同事使用 Bruker Albira 成像系统创建了 24 小时昼夜周期中活体小鼠心脏和大脑中 FDG 的融合 CT 图像(体素大小 250 Hounsfield 单位)和 PET 扫描结果(体素大小 0.6560.6560.944 mm [xyz])。

结果表明,FDG 在心脏和大脑中都有明显聚集。尽管小鼠活体的变化在昼夜周期中很常见,但心脏数据未反映出葡萄糖使用情况方面任何有规律的时间模式。另一方面,整个大脑则在葡萄糖更新方面表现出强烈的日间规律。大脑葡萄糖摄取在昼夜周期的夜间中期(这些夜行动物一天最活跃的时间)达到峰值(大约为平均水平的 150%)。

使用 PET 专有的小鼠大脑模板所得的特定大脑区域的数据表明,所研究的大多数大脑区域在葡萄糖摄取方面均具有昼夜节律周期。嗅球和皮层中表现出高于平均幅度的节律,而杏仁核、脑干和下丘脑中则表现出明显低于平均幅度的周期。作者认为小幅度周期可反映相同大脑结构中的多个节律,其异相位足以减弱该区域幅度的总和。

各个代表性 C57Bl/6 小鼠的融合 CT 和 PET 图像

Fused_CT_PET_C57Bl-6_mice.jpg
The left panel shows a 3D reconstruction of a mouse measured in the middle of the dark phase of the light-dark cycle, where brain, heart and bladder show high FDG uptake. Both kidneys and the interscapular brown adipose tissue are also visible. Colors ind

 

 

与此前采用 2DG 追踪葡萄糖利用情况的研究相比,在 Albira 成像系统中采用的 FDG 方法揭示了更全面、更复杂的大脑葡萄糖摄取变化。作者注意到,实验结果表明在大脑葡萄糖摄取的临床前与临床研究中,有必要考察一天中不同时间点的不同结果。

了解更多

  • 了解有关 Albira PET/SPECT/CT 成像系统的更多信息
  • 了解如何在 Albira 成像系统上使用微型 CT 测定骨密度。请阅读应用简报 123使用羟磷灰石体模检测骨矿物质密度单位的 Albira CT 系统/PMOD 软件方案
  • 联系客服代表了解布鲁克多模块成像系统如何助您追踪活体的关键目标物

PET imaging of glucose uptake

PET study of glucose uptake reveals nocturnal peak in the mouse brain

Three-dimensional measurement of glucose uptake and usage in vivo provides a valuable indicator of the metabolic state and activity in the brain, heart, muscle, and other tissues. PET imaging using a sugar molecule labeled with the positron emitting radionucleotide, 18F-fluorodeoxyglucose (FDG) reveals cellular uptake of glucose from the blood. FDG is used in preclinical as well as clinical imaging, notably in screening for cancer metastasis.

FDG is often created in the morning for use by mid- to late-day, due to the short half-life of 18F (110 minutes). Any circadian cycle in tissue glucose uptake would affect PET results depending on the time of day the scan is taken.

Van der Veen DR, Shao J, Chapman S, Leevy WM, Duffield GE. A 24-hour temporal profile of in vivo brain and heart pet imaging reveals a nocturnal peak in brain 18F-fluorodeoxyglucose uptake. PLoS One 2012;7: e31792.
PubMed Central: PMC3285174

Prior studies using 2-deoxy-D[14C]-glucose (2DG) to trace glucose usage have shown only a few brain areas with clear 24-hour rhythms. The 2DG method provides precisely localized quantitation of glucose use at one time point per animal. However, it cannot reveal patterns in glucose uptake across the whole body within individuals over time.

To examine the question of circadian cycling, Van der Veen and colleagues used a Bruker Albira imaging system to create fused CT images (voxel size 250 Hounsfield units) and PET scans (voxel size 0.6560.6560.944 mm [xyz]) of FDG in the hearts and brains of living mice across the 24-hour light/dark cycle.

The FDG localized strongly to both heart and brain. The heart data did not show any regular temporal pattern in glucose use, though variations within mice were common through the day/night cycle. The whole brain showed a strong daily rhythm in glucose update. Brain glucose uptake peaked – reaching about 150% of average levels – at mid-dark in the light/dark cycle, the most active time of day for these nocturnal animals.

Data from specific brain regions, identified using a PET-specific mouse brain template, showed circadian cycling of glucose uptake in most brain regions examined. Rhythms of above-average amplitude appeared in the olfactory bulb and cortex, while cycling of below-average amplitude was evident in the amygdala, brain stem and hypothalamus. The authors propose that low-amplitude cycles could reflect multiple rhythms in the same brain structure, sufficiently out-of-phase to dampen the summed amplitude for the region.

Fused CT and PET images from individual representative C57Bl/6 mice

Fused_CT_PET_C57Bl-6_mice.jpg
The left panel shows a 3D reconstruction of a mouse measured in the middle of the dark phase of the light-dark cycle, where brain, heart and bladder show high FDG uptake. Both kidneys and the interscapular brown adipose tissue are also visible. Colors ind

 

 

The FDG method on the Albira imaging system revealed greater and more complex variations in brain glucose uptake than prior studies with 2DG suggested for glucose utilization. As the authors note, the results point to a need to account for time of day in both preclinical and clinical studies of brain glucose uptake.

Read more

  • Learn more about the Albira PET/SPECT/CT imaging system
  • Learn how to measure bone density using microCT on the Albira imaging system. Read Application Note 123: Albira CT System/PMOD Software Protocol for Obtaining Bone Mineral Density Units Using a Hydroxyapatite Phantom
  • Contact a customer service representative to learn how a Bruker multimodal imaging system can help you track your key targets in vivo