BioScopeFastTapping webslider
Bioscope resolve Banner v1
AFM BioMed conference webslider 2018.011

Résoudre des structures à l'échelle nanométrique sur les cellules vivantes

Jusqu'à présent, l'imagerie AFM des structures de microvillis devait être menée sur des cellules fixes pour tenir compte des forces d'imagerie plus élevées des modes traditionnels de taraudage AFM. Bien que le cytosquelette sous-jacent d'une cellule vivante ait pu être vu, il n'était pas possible d'obtenir la résolution nécessaire pour observer clairement les microvillis à la surface des cellules vivantes plus douces et non fixées. BioScope Resolve est capable de capturer des images haute résolution de microvilli à la surface de cellules vivantes et délicates en utilisant les forces d'imagerie faibles de PeakForce Tapping®.

high-resolution AFM imaging, microvilli, living cells, PeakForceQNM
Bioscope Resolve with PeakForce Tapping now enables high-resolution imaging of microvilli on living cells. (25 µm and 10 µm images of MDCK cells captured at 1 kHz PeakForce QNM. Images obtained by Dr. Hermann Schillers, University of Munster.)

 

"Il était auparavant impossible de résoudre les structures les plus fines d'une cellule en direct comme les microvilliers, mais maintenant, avec PeakForce Tapping amélioré sur BioScope Resolve, je peux les image facilement en une heure."

 

Dr. Hermann Schillers
University of Munster, Germany

 

 

Observation topographique, modulaire et fluorescente en temps réel

BioScope Resolve utilise PeakForce QNM pour permettre la collecte simultanée de données de topographie et de module, pour des études telles que l'imagerie de cellules vivantes qui ont des filaments d'actine marqués par fluorescence. En utilisant la synchronisation pour capturer les images AFM et fluorescence corrélées, des changements en temps réel de la topographie cellulaire, du module et de la fluorescence peuvent être observés.


Par exemple, si les cellules sont exposées au médicament perturbant l'actine Cytochalasine, on observe une diminution simultanée du module et de la disparition du signal de fluorescence. Cette disparition de fluorescence est en corrélation avec la dégradation du cytosquelette de la cellule. De plus, un film de microscopie à force atomique et d'images fluorescentes peut être créé pour représenter graphiquement les changements de fluorescence et de module au fil du temps.

correlated AFM and optical imaging, cell topography
Line-by-line synchronization of atomic force microscopy and confocal microscopy for true correlation of AFM and optical data.

Imagerie Moléculaire à Haute Résolution

BioScope Resolve fournit l'imagerie moléculaire la plus performante et la plus haute résolution sur un microscope optique inversé. La conception du système intègre parfaitement la tête AFM avec des instruments à microscope optique de sorte que l'une ou l'autre technologie ne soit comprise de quelque manière que ce soit. Avec sa caractérisation nanomécanique, sa cartographie de la topographie de la plus haute résolution et ses capacités de microscopie optique, cette BioAFM de prochaine génération est même capable de résoudre les sous-unités individuelles des trimères de bacteriorhodopsine (bR).

bacteriorhodopsin, AFM image of lattice structure
PeakForce Tapping image of the bacteriorhodopsin (bR) membrane protein lattice structure taken on an inverted optical microscope. The inset shows a single particle averaging of the bR trimer. The green circle shows a single lattice defect. The blue circle

La plupart des données quantitatives sur la mécanique cellulaire et la spectroscopie de la force moléculaire

Seules les techniques exclusives de Bruker, PeakForce QNM et FASTForce Volume se combinent pour fournir la plus large gamme de fréquences de rampe et la cartographie de propriété la plus quantitative pour les échantillons biologiques. En outre, des vitesses d'imagerie plus élevées et une capacité de mesure automatisée fournissent plus de données en moins de temps, ce qui permet un temps de publication plus rapide.

 

Le nouveau mode FASTForce Volume de Bruker complète PeakForce QNM pour fournir la plus large gamme de fréquences de rampe.

  • FASTForce acquisition de données de volume, de 0.1 Hz à 300 kHz
  • Les forces de déclenchement du niveau pN pour les courbes de distance de force les plus sensibles et les plus haute résolution pour la spectroscopie de force
  • La plus grande plage de fréquence de rampe, combinée à PeakForce QNM, de 0,1 Hz à 1 kHz en liquide ou 2 kHz dans l'air
AFM ramp frequencies
Widest range of ramp frequencies for more data in less time

Opterra Multipoint Confocal

Resolving Nanoscale Structures on Living Cells

Until now, AFM imaging of microvilli structures had to be conducted on fixed cells to accommodate the higher imaging forces of traditional AFM tapping modes. Although a living cell’s underlying cytoskeleton could be seen, it was not possible to obtain the resolution needed to clearly observe the microvilli on the surface of softer, unfixed living cells. BioScope Resolve is able to capture high-resolution images of microvilli on the surface of delicate, living cells using the low imaging forces of PeakForce Tapping®.

high-resolution AFM imaging, microvilli, living cells, PeakForceQNM
Bioscope Resolve with PeakForce Tapping now enables high-resolution imaging of microvilli on living cells. (25 µm and 10 µm images of MDCK cells captured at 1 kHz PeakForce QNM. Images obtained by Dr. Hermann Schillers, University of Munster.)

 

"It was previously impossible to resolve the finest structures of a live cell like microvilli, but now with the improved PeakForce Tapping on BioScope Resolve I can image them easily in one hour."

 

Dr. Hermann Schillers
University of Munster, Germany

 

 

Real-Time Cell Topography, Modulus, and Fluorescence Observation

BioScope Resolve utilizes PeakForce QNM to enable collection of both topography and modulus data simultaneously, for studies such as imaging living cells that have fluorescently labeled actin filaments. Using synchronization to capture correlated AFM and fluorescence images, real-time changes in cell topography, modulus, and fluorescence can be observed


For example, if cells are exposed to the actin-disrupting drug Cytochalasin, a simultaneous decrease in modulus and disappearance of the fluorescence signal is observed. This fluorescence disappearance correlates to the breakdown of the cell’s cytoskeleton.  Additionally, a time-lapse movie of atomic force microscopy and fluorescence images can be created to graph the fluorescence and modulus changes over time.

correlated AFM and optical imaging, cell topography
Line-by-line synchronization of atomic force microscopy and confocal microscopy for true correlation of AFM and optical data.

Molecular High-Resolution Imaging

BioScope Resolve provides best-in-class, highest resolution molecular imaging on an inverted optical microscope. The system’s design seamlessly integrates the AFM head with light microscope instrumentation so that neither technology is comprised in any way. With its nanomechanical characterization, highest resolution topography mapping, and optical microscopy abilities, this next-generation BioAFM is even able to resolve the individual subunits of bacteriorhodopsin (bR) trimers.

bacteriorhodopsin, AFM image of lattice structure
PeakForce Tapping image of the bacteriorhodopsin (bR) membrane protein lattice structure taken on an inverted optical microscope. The inset shows a single particle averaging of the bR trimer. The green circle shows a single lattice defect. The blue circle

Most Quantitative Cell Mechanics and Molecular Force Spectroscopy Data

Only Bruker’s exclusive techniques, PeakForce QNM and FASTForce Volume combine to provide the widest range of ramp frequencies and the most quantitative property mapping for biological samples. Additionally, higher imaging speeds and automated measurement capability provide more data in less time, leading to faster time to publication.

 

Bruker’s new FASTForce Volume mode complements PeakForce QNM to provide the widest range of ramp frequencies.

  • FASTForce volume data acquisition, from 0.1 Hz to 300 kHz
  • pN level trigger forces for the most sensitive, highest resolution force distance curves for force spectroscopy
  • Widest ramp frequency range, when combined with PeakForce QNM, from 0.1 Hz to 1 kHz in liquid or 2 kHz in air
AFM ramp frequencies
Widest range of ramp frequencies for more data in less time
Related Information