Nanomechanical webslider 2017.074

纳米力学实验室

重塑您的期望值

全新的NanoMechanics Lab™实现了纳米量级的定量表征,测试样品涵盖从软而黏的水溶胶、复合物及硬质的金属和陶瓷材料,测试结果与纳米压痕得到可溯源的测量结果一致。通过一整套先进模式所提供精准的力与频率控制,来实现材料纳米力学最完备的解决方法,包括从亚纳米尺度上的研究到高通量AFM所有的测量与数据分析。

NDMA web image diagram 650

纳米力学表征的完备解决方案

广泛的纳米力学

纳米力学性能表征的材料涵盖极软的水合物到坚硬的金属和陶瓷

自上世纪90年代布鲁克在接触模式和轻敲模式方面取得原创性进展以来,布鲁克在纳米力学表征方面一直领先全球。利用布鲁克技术,学术界发表了数千篇同行审议的科学论文,工业界每天都要进行数千次的质量控制检测。

NDMA table 2018.119

今天,布鲁克的NanoMechanics Lab™包含了所有AFM在纳米级测量技术的演化与进展,既有已经广泛验证的力曲线阵列(Force Volume)和峰值力定量纳米力学测量模式(PeakForce QNM),也有全新的快速力曲线阵列(FASTForce Volume)和基于快速力曲线阵列的接触共振模式(FASTForce Volume Contact Resonance)。这些工作模式提供了迄今最灵活多样的力谱手段,并且这些模式可以结合使用以获得海量多维数据,进而得到精度和重复性绝佳的全套弹性和粘弹性结果。

校准好的纳米力学

布鲁克独有的探针制造方法使得我们可以校准每一根AFM探针的弹性常数、控制针尖形状与半径,从而确保高准确度的结果。新一代PeakForce QNM-HA模块可以使用户遵循简便的步骤来校准,并且数据分析模型与分析方法方面大大扩展了软件能力,以适应不同种类样品的测量需求。重复性始终如一、方便、校准好的可靠测量。

Figure nmech lab 1 storage modulus
Figure nmech lab 2 loss modulus
Figure nmech lab 3 loss tangent2

Quantitative storage modulus, loss modulus, and loss tangent, measured at 100Hz, on quaternary polymer blend.

独有的纳米级力学测量模式

AFM-nDMA

AFM-nDMA introduces quantitative nanoscale viscoelastic characterization of polymers, probing materials at rheologically relevant frequencies, in the linear regime.

Bulk viscoelastic characterization of polymers is traditionally performed with dynamic mechanical analysis (DMA), operating at small strains to ensure a linear material response, at frequencies from below 1Hz to the low kHz range. In contrast, traditional AFM methods for viscoelastic characterization employ resonant methods that operate at much higher frequencies, and where Tapping Mode based methods are used, the tip-surface contact is made and broken at every cycle, a highly nonlinear process.

Bruker’s AFM-nDMA employs proprietary dual channel detection, phase drift correction, and reference frequency tracking, enabling a small strain measurement in the rheologically relevant 0.1Hz to 20kHz range, at the spatial resolution only AFM can provide. The measurement is embedded in a force curve, enabling contact radius quantification and oscillation in contact, combined with avoidance of lateral forces to enable resolution and reproducibility. The result are nanoscale measurements of storage modulus, loss modulus, and loss tangent that tie directly to bulk DMA, including construction of master curves, extraction of glass transition temperatures, and analysis for the activation energy using Arrhenius law. For the first time, AFM provides complete and quantitative viscoelastic analysis at the nanoscale.

Figure LP7 FEP Mastercurve
Figure LP8 FEP Arrhenius Analysis New
PeakForce QNM PHBV and PS

PeakForce QNM

在样品表面获取原子级别分辨率的同时,大幅改进过的PeakForce QNM通过一套简易的流程即可定量表征样品的纳米力学性能,包括模量、粘附力、耗散和形变等。此过程对探针和样品均无损伤,因为峰值力模式直接控制探针与样品间的峰值力,几乎消除了侧向力。PeakForce QNM适用于1k Pa到100G Pa范围内材料的定量化力学研究。

PeakForce QNM 配合精准控制的针尖几何形状和经过频率校准的布鲁克探针,使得用户可以自如地在日常测量中实现高准确度,从而生成高分辨的纳米级图谱。通过扫描探针盒上的二维码,在软件中选择对应的探针,选用接触或非接触式校准后,用户即可开始采集真正定量的纳米力学测试数据。

NanoMechanics lab calibrated nanomechanics sample
NanoMechanics lab calibrated nanomechanics graph




FASTForce Volume

相比常规的力曲线阵列(Force Volume)的测试时长,快速力曲线阵列(FASTForce Volume)在测量1k Pa到100G Pa范围内的材料的力学性能时测量效率提高了超过20倍。快速力曲线阵列模式将线性加卸载频率提高到超过400Hz,填补了普通力曲线阵列模式与PeakForce QNM间的频率空白。操作频率之间的重叠可以用来开展不同模式下的纳米力学相关性研究,确保在研究材料性能随频率变化时的测量可靠性。

NanoMechanics lab ternary polymer blend

快速力曲线阵列在加卸载频率122Hz时获得的三元聚合物(聚苯乙烯,聚丙烯,聚乙烯)的模量图谱。明亮区域为聚苯乙烯(PS,模量~2.9GPa),暗色区为聚乙烯(PE,模量~1.8GPa),基体为聚丙烯(PP,模量~1.9GPa)。

Nanomechanics webimage 500x

超过40小时的测量后,FASTForce Volume CR得到的存储模量(E’)图谱表明模量数据极其稳定。样品是硅上50纳米厚的金属膜,Al(左)和Cr(右)在Si(中)上。

FASTForce Volume CR

接触共振因其可以在较大模量范围内测量包括弹性和粘弹性的材料性能,而被视为纳米力学测量中的一种强大工具。然而直到今天,因为成像速度慢、分析复杂且获取全谱数据需要特定的硬件支持,使得该方法在实现使用中受到了限制。

快速力曲线阵列-接触共振模式(FASTForce Volume CR)通过结合共振与非共振模式打破了上述限制,可以获取从<1 GPa到>300 GPa范围内材料的迄今最准确的力学数据。这一增强功能结合了灵活易用的软件和广泛使用的快速力曲线阵列平台。其他基于成像模式的接触共振方法本质上仍然是接触模式。不同于这些传统模式,快速力曲线阵列-接触共振模式减少了针尖上的侧向力从而减少了样品损伤、探针磨损,进而使得同一探针可以进行更多测量。

Nanomechanical webslider 2017.074

NanoMechanics Lab

Recalibrate your expectations

The new NanoMechanics Lab™ enables quantifiable nanoscale characterization extending from soft sticky hydrogels and composites to stiff metals and ceramics, allowing correlation to traceable measurements with nanoindentation. A full set of advanced modes delivers precise force and frequency control for the most complete nanomechanics materials research, from sub-nanometer resolution investigations to highest-volume AFM measurements and data analyses.



Contact an Expert 

NanoMechanics Lab Collage image

Polystyrene (PS)-Polycaprolactone (PCL)

Complete Solution for Nanomechanical Characterization

Comprehensive NanoMechanics

Characterize nanomechanical properties of materials ranging from extremely soft hydrated materials to stiff metals and ceramics

With thousands of peer-reviewed scientific papers and thousands of QC measurements per day in factories around the world, Bruker’s legacy of nanomechanical characterization solutions has been leading the world since our initial innovations in contact and tapping AFM technology in the 90s.

NanoMechanics Lab Modulus Range Applicatons table 2

Click Image to enlarge

Today, Bruker's NanoMechanics Lab encompasses the full evolution of nanoscale AFM measurement techniques, including the well-established Force Volume and PeakForce QNM modes, as well as the new FASTForce Volume and FASTForce Volume Contact Resonance. Offering the most flexible force spectroscopy available, these modes can be combined to deliver huge data cubes, rendering a full array of elastic and viscoelastic data with great precision and repeatability ─ all in a single AFM system.

Calibrated Nanomechanics

The advent of Bruker exclusive probe manufacturing methods allows us to calibrate every AFM probe for spring constant and control tip shape and radius to rendering consistent high accuracy results. The new PeakForce QNM-HA product features new and easy to follow calibration steps along with expanded software capabilities in modeling and analysis to accommodate a wide variety of samples. Consistent, convenient, calibrated measurements.

NanoMechanics lab calibrated nanomechanics sample
NanoMechanics lab calibrated nanomechanics graph

Exclusive Nanoscale Mechanical Measurement Modes

PeakForce QNM PHBV and PS

PeakForce QNM

A vastly improved PeakForce QNM introduces a simple workflow to quantitatively characterize nanomechanical properties—including modulus, adhesion, dissipation, and deformation—while simultaneously imaging sample topography at atomic scale resolution. It is non-destructive to both tip and sample since it directly controls the peak normal force and minimizes the lateral force on the probe. PeakForce QNM enables routine quantifiable mechanical investigation of materials in the 1 kPa to 100 GPa range.

The combination of PeakForce QNM, precisely controlled tip geometry, and Bruker's frequency-calibrated probes enables routine measurements with the lowest uncertainty, while rendering results with high-resolution nanoscale mapping. By simply scanning the probe box QR code, selecting the specific probe number in the NanoScope software, and choosing between a touch or no-touch calibration, you're ready to start collecting truly quantitative nanomechanics measurements.





FASTForce Volume

FASTForce Volume improves the acquisition time of Force Volume mapping by >20x to measure mechanical properties of materials in the range of 1 kPa to 100 GPa. FASTForce Volume extends the operating frequency of linear ramps by > 400 Hz, closing the frequency gap between PeakForce QNM and the standard Force Volume mode. The overlap of operating frequencies facilitates nanomechanical correlative studies between modes, rendering greater measurement confidence while allowing investigation of property material frequency dependency.

Download App Note

NanoMechanics lab ternary polymer blend

FASTForce Volume modulus map of ternary polymer blend (PS, PP, PE) collected with a ramp rate of 122Hz. Bright areas are PS (modulus ~2.9GPa), dark areas are PE (modulus ~1.8GPa), matrix is PP (modulus ~1.9GPa).

Nanomechanics webimage 500x

FASTForce Volume Contact Resonance storage modulus (E’) maps demonstrating very consistent measurement of modulus over 40hours of measurements.  Sample is 50nm thick metal films of Al (left) and Cr (right) on Si (middle).

FASTForce Volume CR

Contact resonance is a powerful tool for nanomechanical measurements due to its ability to measure a wide range of moduli, including both elastic and viscoelastic properties. However, until now, the implementation of contact resonance has been hampered by slow imaging speed, complex analysis, and the requirement of specialized hardware for full spectrum acquisition.

FASTForce Volume CR resolves these limitations by combining resonant and non-resonant modes to obtain the most accurate mechanical data for stiff materials in the range of <1 GPa to >300 GPa. This enhanced capability is combined with the flexible, easy-to-use software of the widely-adopted FASTForce Volume platform. In contrast to other imaging-based contact resonance methods that are essentially contact mode, FASTForce Volume CR minimizes lateral forces on the tip to reduce sample damage, tip wear, and to generate many measurements from one probe.