Test de dureté à chaud

Observations de la résistance des matériaux à des températures élevées

Download pdf icon 177x50

Propriétés mécaniques à haute température

Dans des applications telles que des moteurs ou des turbines à gaz, une efficacité améliorée peut être obtenue grâce à un fonctionnement à des températures plus élevées. En outre, des applications telles que le travail à chaud des métaux, le traitement catalytique pour éliminer les gaz à effet de serre nocifs, les turbines à vapeur et le traitement pétrochimique nécessitent tous des matériaux qui maintiennent leur résistance à des températures élevées, en combinaison avec une résistance à la corrosion et / ou une résistance à l'usure. Ainsi, il est utile de pouvoir comparer les matériaux dans des conditions de service à haute température.

Pourquoi le test de dureté à chaud?

La réponse est simple: le test de dureté est simple, rapide et peu coûteux. Alors que les essais de traction sont la méthode traditionnelle pour évaluer la résistance des matériaux à haute température, les essais de traction nécessitent des échantillons et des équipements spécialisés. Un test de dureté, d'autre part, peut fournir des comparaisons basées sur la force des matériaux en utilisant des formes d'échantillons très simples, y compris des plats ou des tiges.

Avec divers indenters disponibles avec une gamme de capteurs de force, un UMT peut effectuer une grande variété de tests de contrôle et de comparaison de matériaux dans des conditions allant de la température ambiante jusqu'à 1000 ° C. De plus, les tests de dureté peuvent être effectués sur une gamme extrêmement large de matériaux, des plastiques aux métaux doux aux super-alliages. Des tests d'usure à haute température peuvent également être effectués sur les mêmes échantillons.

hardness test, high temperature hardness testing, wear testing
Hardness and wear testing can be conducted on the same sample. Shown: UMT 1000°C rotary chamber.
alloy testing, hardness measurements, tribometer data
Comparison of hardness measured at elevated temperatures for three different alloys using the HBB test method.

Hot Hardness Testing

Observing Material Strength at Elevated Temperatures

Download pdf icon 177x50

Mechanical Properties at High Temperatures

In applications such as engines or gas turbines, improved efficiency can be achieved through operation at higher temperatures. Additionally, applications such as hot working of metals, catalytic processing to remove harmful greenhouse gases, steam turbines, and petrochemical processing all require materials that maintain their strength at high temperatures, in combination with corrosion-resistance and/or wear-resistance. Thus, it is useful to be able to compare materials under high-temperature service conditions.

Why Hot Hardness Testing?

The answer is simple: hardness testing is easy, fast and inexpensive. While tensile testing is the traditional method to assess material strength at high temperature, tensile tests require specialized samples and equipment. A hardness test, on the other hand, can provide strength-based comparisons of materials using very simple sample shapes, including flats or rods.
With various indenters available with a range of force sensors, a UMT can perform a wide variety of material screening and comparison tests under conditions from room temperature up to 1000°C. Plus, the hardness testing can be performed on an extremely wide range of materials, from plastics to soft metals to super-alloys. High-temperature wear tests also can be conducted on the same samples.

Contact Us Today

Ask your Bruker representative today about how our Hot Hardness testing capabilities can help you in your business or research.

hardness testing, high temperature hardness testing, wear testing
Hardness and wear testing can be conducted on the same sample. Shown: UMT 1000°C rotary chamber.
alloy testing, hardness measurements, tribometer data
Comparison of hardness measured at elevated temperatures for three different alloys using the HBB test method.