电子-电子双共振的下一步

ELDOR Upgrade Unit

电子-电子双共振 (ELDOR) 波谱已经成为极其常见的电子间距测量方法(DEER 和 PELDOR)。如需进行更加复杂的实验,比如 Soft ESEEM 和 TPPI,两个微波来源需要进行相互相位锁定,这种设置被称为相干ELDOR。

相干ELDOR:安装

令人激动的是,ELDOR 源经过锁定单元被锁在主微波桥源上。PatternJet 脉冲程序编译器为锁定提供了必要的外部触发器。

 

相干 ELDOR 设置可完美地整合布鲁克的中频 (IF-) 概念,即时提供 1 至 100 GHz 的相干 ELDOR 能力。

相干ELDOR:应用示例

ESEEM

相干 ELDOR 最近才开始上市销售。主要脉冲 EPR 实验是 Soft ESEEM 和 TPPI 检测。此外,具有双锁相微波源的脉冲 EPR 实验对量子计算的某些实验来说也是非常有作用的。

双频 Soft-ESEEM

Soft-ESEEM(参考Schweiger 和 Jeschke《脉冲电子顺磁共振原理》第 11.3 章)的优势在于,可以有选择性地激发允许跃迁和禁戒跃迁,因此仅需要较低功率的微波。双频 Soft-ESEEM(红色,顶部轨迹)与常见单频 ESEEM (高功率与低功率,分别是绿色和蓝色)的对比清楚地表明,分辨率和选择性有所增加。

The Next Step in Electron-Electron Double Resonance

ELDOR Upgrade Unit

Electron-electron double resonance (ELDOR) spectroscopy became very common to measure electron-electron distances (DEER and PELDOR) . For more elaborated experiments like Soft ESEEM and TPPI, the two microwave sources need to be phase locked to each other, a setup referred to as Coherent ELDOR.

Coherent ELDOR: The Setup

On the excitation side, the ELDOR source is locked to the main microwave bridge source by a locking unit. The PatternJet pulse programmer provides the necessary external trigger for the lock.

 

The Coherent ELDOR setup is seemlessly integrated into Bruker's Intermediate Frequency (IF-)concept, readily providing Coherent ELDOR capabilities from 1 to 100 GHz.

Coherent ELDOR: Application Examples

2 frequency Soft-ESEEM (top) vs. high-power and low-power ESEEM (middle and bottom, resp.) demonstrating the increased resolution.

Coherent ELDOR has become commercially available only recently. Key pulsed EPR experiments are Soft ESEEM and TPPI detection. Further, pulsed EPR experiments with two phase-locked sources are also advantageous for Quantum Computing experiments.

Two Frequency Soft-ESEEM

Soft-ESEEM (cf. Schweiger & Jeschke, Principle of pulse electron paramagnetic resonance, ch. 11.3) has the advantage of selectively exciting allowed and forbidden transitions and thus requiring only low mw power levels. The comparision of the two frequency Soft-ESEEM (red, top trace) with the common one-frequency ESEEM (high and low power, green and blue, resp.) clearly demonstrates the increase in resolution and selectivity.