增强型 ENDOR 波谱仪

脉冲 ENDOR谱中的两种常见的假象,基线变形和强度不对称,可以通过 E560 DICE 单元中的随机激发模式进行消除。基线变形是 RF 脉冲加热样品和谐振腔导致谐振腔耦合和匹配临界模式发生变化的结果。  不对称 ENDOR 强度是因系统中各种弛豫过程 (T1e、T1n、T1x) 相互影响而引起的现象。

随机 ENDOR:安装

Xepr 中选择使用“随机模式”,软件便会指示 DICE 单元对设定的 RF 脉冲使用一组随机的 RF 频率。对于每次扫描,应用的 RF 频率顺序是随机,与之前的扫描结果无关,所以会对样品造成真正的随机激发。

增强慢速弛缓物质的探测灵敏度

PSi Stochastic ENDOR

部分 EPR 系统中出现的慢速弛豫对 ENDOR 谱的及时采集带来了挑战。为了获取 ENDOR 效果,应避免 NMR 跃迁饱和。一种方法是使用较长的重复时间(Repitition Time),以达到较长的累计时间,从而实现合理的信噪比等级。或者,可以通过随机激发和缩短重复时间使饱和达到最小程度,以在更短的累计时间内大幅增加信噪比。

可靠的波谱表征

Stochastic ENDOR

电子弛豫时间 T1e、核弛豫时间 T1n 与交叉弛豫 T1x 之间的关系会导致 ENDOR 谱中出现不对称的信号强度。此现象可能会在低温 W 波段脉冲 ENDOR 实验中频繁出现。虽然这种不对称也是用于提供超精细耦合的迹象,但是人们更希望 ENDOR 谱中没有这种不对称。随机激发可使弛豫效果最小化,导致线性激发下出现负强度。

Enhanced ENDOR Spectroscopy

Two common artifacts present in pulse ENDOR spectra, baseline distortion and asymmetric intensities, can be eliminated via the stochastic excitation mode available with the E560 DICE unit. Baseline distortions are a result of the heating of sample and resonator by the RF pulses causing changes in resonator coupling and matching.  Asymmetric ENDOR intensities are a phenomenon arising from the interplay of the various relaxation processes (T1e, T1n, and T1x) in the system.

Stochastic ENDOR: The Setup

Enabling 'Stochastic Mode' in Xepr, directs the DICE unit to use a set of random RF frequencies for the defined RF pulse. For each scan, the sequence of RF frequencies applied is random and unrelated to the previous scans resulting in a truly stochastic excitation of the sample.

Sensitivity Enhancement for Slow Relaxing Species

PSi Stochastic ENDOR

The slow relaxation present in some EPR systems present challenges for the timely acquisition of ENDOR spectra. For maximum ENDOR effect, saturation of the NMR transitions should be avoided. One route is to use long repetition times which result in long accumulation times to achieve reasonable signal-to-noise levels. Alternatively, this saturation can be minimized with stochastic excitation and short repetition times to significantly increase the signal-to-noise in shorter accumulation times.

Faithful Spectrum Representation

Stochastic ENDOR

 The relationship between the electronic relaxation time, T1e, the nuclear relaxation time, T1n, and cross relaxation, T1x, can lead to asymmetric line intensities in ENDOR spectra. This phenomenon can be frequently observed in low temperature W-band pulse-ENDOR experiments. While these asymmetries can be used to provide the sign of the hyperfine coupling, what is often desired is an ENDOR spectrum free of such asymmetry. Stochastic excitation minimizes the effects of relaxation which result in negative intensities with linear excitation.