Bruker Nano Analytics presents:

Can TXRF be a Valuable Tool in Biomonitoring?

This webinar will take place on October 19, 2021

Session I: Tuesday, October 19

  • 10 am CEST / Berlin
  • 4 pm SGT / Singapore
  • 5 pm JST / Tokyo

Session II: Tuesday, October 19

  • 5 pm CEST / Berlin
  • 8 am PST / Los Angeles
  • 11 am EST / New York

Analysis of Soils, Plants and Water Samples with TXRF

This webinar will demonstrate the application of benchtop Total Reflection X-ray fluorescence (TXRF) spectrometers for environmental analysis. It will highlight the ease of sample preparation of liquids, pastes, suspensions and solids avoiding laborious digestion procedures with hazardous chemicals. The applicability of TXRF for this is widely proved by its use for the analysis of soils, plants and different types of water samples.

TXRF spectroscopy is nowadays a well-recognized technique in environmental studies. In particular, it is widely used for tracking potentially toxic elements (PTEs) in several environmental compartments (water, air, soil, sediments). However, the total concentration of a PTE (or a group of PTEs) cannot give a real idea of the environmental risk since no information on the elements’ mobility is provided. In order to understand the amount of the PTEs which could be assimilated by an organism, bioavailability studies have been performed using sentinel organisms. In this webinar some practical examples and strategies for the assessment of the bioavailability of PTEs using TXRF will be discussed. In particular it will be shown that TXRF is a valuable and precise tool in biomonitoring.

Whether you are interested in research, environmental studies or easy-to-use analytical methods, this webinar will give you the information you need on the capabilities of most modern TXRF techniques.

There will be a 15 minutes Q&A session where our experts will answer your questions.

Who Should Attend?

  • Researchers at institutions for environmental and biochemical sciences
  • Lab managers and analysts from governmental, industrial and service labs
  • Scientists in analytical chemistry with interest for new technologies and methods

You Can't Attend the Live Webinar?

Register upfront for the on-demand version and we will send you a link to later viewing the recording at your convenience.

Speakers

Dr. Armin Gross

Global Product Manager TXRF, Bruker Nano Analytics

Dr. Hagen Stosnach

Application Scientist TXRF, Bruker Nano Analytics

Dr. Ignazio Allegretta
“Micro X-ray Lab”, Department of Soil, Plant and Food Sciences, University of Bari, Italy

* The registration forms are optimized for the browser Google Chrome.