Autoflexmax Webbanner

MALDI-TOF质谱仪:对聚合物结构的深入分析

从常规的质量控制到发现和表征,autoflex maX MALDI-TOF和TOF / TOF系统为快速分析具有挑战性的样品提供了多用途性和可靠性。 利用新的10bit数模转换器提供的更宽的动态范围,可以对聚合物、肽、蛋白质、脂质和聚糖进行详细的表征,用最少的样品量发挥最大的功效。

超过25年的MALDI经验-广受认可的卓越技术创新性

Autoflex maX solo high res 300px

autoflex maX MALDI系统采用我们广受认可的创新技术构建而成,旨在成为全球科学家,分析化学家和研究人员的强大工具。 自1992年推出首个商用MALDI-TOF MS系统REFLEX以来,我们一直在努力提高flex系列的MALDI TOF和TOF / TOF仪器的分析性能和功能。早期的MALDI使用者永远想不到,通过采集蛋白酶切产物的肽指纹图谱来鉴定蛋白的方法,会在后期为无液相分离的、一键实现生物诊断药物质控筛查铺平了道路(使用我们的Biopharma Compass软件,15分钟内得到明确结果),或是衍生出一种糖类物质的表征工具实现单抗差异性的快速可视化。

测序结果的准确度可以迅速地通过MS/MS分析来确认;即使对于非常复杂的样品, autoflex maX配备的smartbeam II激光器可以在消耗极少量样品的情况下对样品做深度分析。

强大的smartbeam 激光器可以对样品做深度分析。

Smartbeam激光器对各种MALDI基质的适应性提供了离子化的灵活性和足够的分析能力。 这种灵活性对于聚合物分析至关重要,因为聚合物的多样性通常会给检测和表征带来挑战,这种多样性也正是他们成为生活中至关重要的物质的原因。 无论是用于工业质量控制,杂质评估还是添加剂表征,autoflex maX MALDI-TOF系统都可快速提供信息,特别是与我们的PolyTools软件一起使用。

分析宽域谱图的分子

我们所有的MALDI-TOF质谱仪都能分析宽质荷比范围的离子,使得分析宽域谱图的分子成为可能—从小分子(例如脂质和多肽),至分子量超过100kDa的聚合物和完整蛋白质分子。宽域聚焦技术保证在较宽得质量范围内都呈现出很高的分辨率,autoflex maX具有新的10 bit的模数转换器,极大地提高了动态响应范围,使我们能对低丰度样品组分做全面的表征。在MALDI质谱成像应用中,动态响应范围扩展对复杂样品分析的提升(例如组织切片)是无价的,不仅如此,对于所有的应用都是极为有利的,包括质检,直接的TLC-MALDI和聚合物分析。

Polymere Analysis 400px
autoflex maX对聚丙烯酸正丁基酯的表征。
聚丙烯酸正丁基酯是在100°C下通过本体聚合得到;从MALDI-TOF谱图中,可以看到在三个数量级的动态响应范围内autoflex maX都能给出极高的信号强度。在35kDa附近的低强度的信号和在3kDa的精细的谱图细节可以被清晰的检测到而没有饱和。
*Agirre, J. I. Santos, A. Etxeberria, V. Sauerland, J. R. Leiza, Polym. Chem., 2013, 4 (6), 2062 – 2079

autoflex maX具有较小的实验室的占地面积,并且可以在现场,实现从TOF到TOF / TOF的升级,可以提供真正的价值和分析功能的多样性,并延续了布鲁克为每个实验室提供创新和可行解决方案的传统。

与所有flex系列的MALDI-TOF 和TOF/TOF系统一样,autoflex maX仪器经过精心设计,能在日常使用中采集到可靠的,具有高价值的数据。autoflex maX应用的灵活性通过其拓宽的动态范围得到了增强,能在在更宽的质量范围内对不同类型分子进行更全面的表征。

smartbeam™II激光是MALDI仪器不可或缺的一部分

我们专有的smartbeamTM II固态激光器是autoflex maX的核心。MS模式下高达2kHz的速度和MS/MS模式下高达200Hz的速度,可以在几分钟内完成对速度要求很高的分析工作,比如生物制药完整性筛查。smartbeam激光器具有业界最佳的离子化效率,即使针对复杂样本,也能使样品使用量达到最小化,使每个采样点的高质量数据输出达到最大化。smartbeam激光器离子化足够温和,组织样品经过成像分析后仍然可以做染色处理。smartbeam激光器适用于多种基质类型,在各种应用领域中都表现出较长的工作寿命。

宽质量范围和动态范围内提供高质量精度和高分辨率

和我们所有MALDI-TOF系统一样,专有的pan™宽范围聚焦技术保证了对脂质、聚糖、肽和大蛋白进行可靠分析。Autoflex maX提供了高达26000的分辨率,10bit的数模转换器和FlashDetector™相结合,提供了低于ppm级的质量精度和amol级的灵敏度。这种分析能力的深度和广度对于聚合物的质量控制至关重要,比如,其它类型的聚合物分析手段可能会遗失一些很小的细节。

软件直观易懂

Autoflex maX的价值和简单易上手的一个关键点就在于Compass软件包,包括了用于控制采集数据的flexControl和用于处理数据的flexAnalysis。无论是使用者操作或者自动操作,这些软件都能简单快速的提供高质量数据的采集。除此之外,Compass软件包可以和特定领域的专业软件联合使用,包括生物制药的Biopharma Compass,聚合物分析的polytools,MALDI成像的SCiLS

维护简单

一个具有这么广泛用途的分析平台将在实验室中承担重负荷,但是由于Perpetual™离子源具有红外激光一键清洗功能,维护过程将变得十分简单。不到15分钟,autoflex maX就很轻易地回归正常的工作中。布鲁克工程师的远程支持服务能实现快速故障排除以及软件和固件的现场更新。

Targeteinzug 400px

快速、强大、多样的直接分析

借助autoflex maX,完全实现了MALDI-TOF MS的应用灵活性,可用于快速发现和表征的工作流程,包括多肽、蛋白质和聚合物质量控制,无需液相分离的聚糖谱分析,脂质分析和分子组织学研究。 从TOF升级到TOF / TOF系统可以在客户现场进行,经济地增强了许多应用领域的分析能力。

深度、多样的聚合物评估

合成聚合物在我们的现代生活中无处不在-从包装材料到油漆,化妆品甚至医药产品。MALDI TOF质谱是一种快速简便的聚合物表征方法,它提供的表征信息的详细度和质量准确度远远超出传统的凝胶渗透色谱法。在许多情况下,可以通过autoflex maX获得可溶解的低聚物的谱图,并且根据该数据通过PolyTools软件快速确定单体和端基。还可以自动计算聚合物的特征值,包括重均分子量(MW),数均分子量(MN),分散度Đ和聚合度,甚至可以容易地区分相似的聚合物组分。有时难以对具有较宽质量分布(D> 1.2)的聚合物进行平均分子量的计算,但autoflex maX增强的动态范围可通过检测强度极低的峰和更宽的聚合物分布提供更多的潜在信息。

快速生物制药产品表征

在生物制药的开发和生产中,快速,明智的决策可以减少从早期开发到质量控制的应用步骤的时间和成本。目前,已经使用autoflex maX开发了快速的无需液相分离的糖型表征方法,以选择克隆体、在fill-finish操作中进行快速ID鉴定、以及对包括聚合物添加剂在内的各种质控检测。

Picture 3 400px
可以通过在autoflex maX系统上基于MALDI-TOF的肽指纹图谱(PMF)来实现单克隆抗体的快速ID确认。 单击放大样品制备方法。

用各种分子的空间分辨率重新定义组织学

MALDI成像提供的有关生物组织,植物乃至工业材料中各类分子的空间分布信息,为众多研究途径提供了独特的视角。 autoflex maX系统可对各种分子进行成像,从很小的分子(例如脂质)到完整的、分子量为20 kDa或更大的蛋白质。 快速的数据采集速率允许在现实的实验室时间尺度内采集数千个数据点,而且autoflex maX具有更宽的的动态检测范围,因此在分析高度复杂的样本(例如生物组织)方面表现出了真正的优势。

针对如此大量的数据,靶向和非靶向的工作流程都需要功能强大的软件来最大化其效用。 我们的SCiLS Lab软件是一款市场领先的、用于详细分析质谱成像数据的综合性工具,与autoflex maX相结合,构成了强大而又可靠的MALDI成像解决方案

Negative ion mode 500px
MALDI成像分析大鼠睾丸组织中的脂质。 (点击放大。)

由于autoflex maX的动态范围扩大,因此基于肽和聚糖的筛选的可靠性和深度得到了提高。autoflex maX可提供高丰度肽段(肽指纹图谱)的丰度区分模型,使用专用的15分钟变性和酶切方案可以快速实现抗体鉴定。 当与参考模型库相比时,我们的Biopharma Compass软件中的专用评分算法可提供相似性评分和交通信号灯颜色编码,以便轻松确定正确的mAb序列匹配。可以通过分析IdeS(Genovis公司)酶切的人体免疫球蛋白或在PNGAse F从所有类型抗体上酶切下的聚糖上,快速进行克隆体选择和质控筛查,Biopharma Compass内生成的蝴蝶图可快速直观比较不同批次mAb的聚糖。

Picture 2 400px
两批免疫球蛋白的mAb 的N-糖谱比较(在不同G1F强度和有无高甘露糖存在的情况下)。(点击放大)

For Research Use Only. Not for Use in Clinical Diagnostic Procedures.

Autoflexmax Webbanner

MALDI-TOF MS Power for In-Depth Polymer Analysis

From routine QC to discovery and characterization, the autoflex maX MALDI-TOF and TOF/TOF systems offer versatility and reliability for the rapid analysis of challenging sample types. With a new 10 bit digitizer providing increased dynamic range, its analytical utility is maximized for detailed profiling of polymers, peptides, proteins, lipids, and glycans with minimal sample preparation.

More than 25 years of MALDI - proven technological innovations

autoflex maX

The autoflex maX MALDI systems are built with our proven technological innovations and designed to be a powerful tool for scientists, analytical chemists, and researchers around the world. Since the launch of our first commercially available MALDI-TOF MS system, the REFLEX, in 1992, we have continually worked to improve the analytical performance and capabilities of our flex family of MALDI TOF and TOF/TOF instruments. The early adopters of MALDI technology might never have imagined that enzymatic digests for identification via Peptide Mass Fingerprinting might lead way to LC-free, turn-key identity screens for the QC of complex biotherapeutics, with clear results (using our Biopharma Compass software) in less than 15 minutes, or that profiling of glycan pools can be used to rapidly visualize different mAb batches.

Sequence fidelity can be confirmed in a flash with MS/MS analyses, and the low sample consumption of the smartbeam II laser of the autoflex maX supports analytical depth, even for very complex samples.

Powerful smartbeam laser for in-depth analysis

The amenability of the smartbeam laser to a wide array of MALDI matrices offers ionization flexibility and analytical power. That flexibility can be critical for polymer analysis, as the diversity of polymeric substances that helps to make them invaluable to everyday life often pose a challenge for detection and characterization. Whether for industrial QC, impurity evaluation, or characterization of additives, the autoflex maX MALDI-TOF systems are fast and informative, particularly when used together with our PolyTools software.

Analysis of broad spectrum of molecules

All of our MALDI-TOF mass spectrometers can analyze ions over a wide m/z range, enabling analysis of a broad spectrum of molecules, from smaller molecules, for example lipids and peptides, up to polymers and intact proteins larger than 100 kDa. With our PAN panoramic focusing, peak resolution is maintained, and the new 10 bit digitizer of the autoflex maX enhances dynamic range for a more complete view of low abundance sample components. In MALDI MS imaging applications, this expansion of dynamic range can be invaluable for complex samples such as tissue, but also beneficial for all applications, including QC workflows, direct TLC-MALDI, and polymer characterization.

polymere analysis
Characterization of poly n-butylacrylates on the autoflex maX system.
MALDI-TOF spectrum of the poly n-butylacrylate synthesized in bulk at 100°C* illustrates the dynamic range of the autoflex maX system with signal intensities the range of three orders of magnitude. Both very low intense signals around 35 kDa and fine spectral detail in the low mass range (~3kDa) are clearly detected without saturation.

*Agirre, J. I. Santos, A. Etxeberria, V. Sauerland, J. R. Leiza, Polym. Chem., 2013, 4 (6), 2062 – 2079

With a laboratory-friendly footprint and the option to upgrade from TOF to TOF/TOF capabilities in the field, the autoflex maX offers true value and analytical versatility and continues Bruker’s legacy of providing innovative and realiable solutions for every laboratory.

Like all of our FLEX series MALDI-TOF and TOF/TOF systems, the autoflex maX instruments are engineered to reliably provide high value data in daily operation. The application flexibility of autoflex maX is strengthened by its improved dynamic range, providing a more complete picture of diverse molecular species across a broad mass range.

The smartbeam™II laser is integral to MALDI instruments

At the heart of the autoflex maX our proprietary smartbeamTM II solid state laser. With up 2 kHz speed in MS mode and 200 Hz for M/MS, time sensitive analysis – such as would be needed for biopharmeutical integrity screening – can be made in minutes. The best-in-class ionization efficiency of the smartbeam laser minimizes sample consumption and maximizes quality data output from each target position, even for complex samples.  The ionization is gentle enough that tissue samples may be stained after analysis in MALDI MS Imaging workflows. Amenable to a host of MALDI matrices, the smartbeam laser offers a long lifetime of service for a wide range of applications.

Keeping focus across a broad mass and dynamic range

As with all of our MALDI-TOF systems, proprietary PAN™ panoramic focusing technology supports confident analyses of lipids, glycans, peptides and large proteins. The autoflex maX provides peak resolution up to 26,000, and its new 10 bit digitizer in combination with our FlashDetector™ means low ppm mass accuracy and amol sensitivity. This depth and breadth of analytical power critical to the QC of polymers, for example, where small details may be missed by other types of analyses.

Driven by intuitive softwares

A key component of the value and walk-up approachability of the autoflex maX is the Compass software suite, including flexControl for data acquisition and flexAnalysis data analysis. Whether user driven or automated, these softwares support the generation of quality data quickly and easily. Further, they work in combination with application specific software packages including Biopharma Compass for biopharmceuticals, PolyTools for polymers, and SCiLS for MALDI imaging.

Maintenance made easy

An analytical platform with this range of utility can become a workhorse in the lab, but ion source maintenance is made easy with the push button, laser based self-cleaning of the Perpetual™ Ion Source. In less than 15 minutes, the autoflex maX will be ready to resume its workload. Remote service capabilities with Bruker engineers support rapid troubleshooting as well as software and firmware updates on the spot.

target

Straightforward analyses with speed, power, and versatility

With the autoflex maX, the application flexibility of MALDI-TOF MS is fully supported for rapid discovery and characterization workflows including peptide, protein, and polymer QC, LC-free glycan profiling, lipid analysis, and molecular histology. Upgrades from TOF to TOF/TOF systems can be made on-site, affordably adding analytical power for many applications.

Depth and diversity for polymeric evaluations

Synthetic polymers are ubiquitous in our modern life – from packing materials to paints and cosmetics and even pharmaceutical products. MALDI TOF mass spectrometry is a fast and easy method for polymer characterization, providing detailed information and mass accuracies far beyond traditional gel permeation chromatography. In many cases, oligomerically resolved polymer mass spectra may be obtained from the autoflex maX, and from this data monomer units and end groups can be rapidly determined via our PolyTools software. Characteristic values of the polymer, including weight average molecular weight (MW), number average molecular weight (MN), dispersity Đ, and degree of polymerization may also be automatically calculated, and even similar polymeric components may be easily distinguished. In cases where mass calculations from polymers with broad mass distributions (D > 1.2) are difficult to perform, the enhanced dynamic range of the autoflex maX provides more data of potential value with the detection of very low intensity peaks and a broader polymer distribution.

Rapid biopharmaceutical product characterizations

In biopharmaceutical development and production, fast and educated decision making can reduce time and costs in applications from early development through QC. Rapid LC free methods have been developed using the autoflex maX to determine glycan profiles for clone selection, perform rapid ID testing during fill-finish operations, and QC diverse incoming goods, including polymer additives.

Rapid ID confirmation
Rapid ID confirmation of monoclonal antibodies can be achieved by MALDI-TOF based Peptide mass fingerprinting (PMF) on the autoflex maX System. Click to enlarge the sample preparation protocol.

Redefining histology with spatial resolution of molecular species

Information on the spatial distribution of molecular species in biological tissues, plants, and even industrial materials as provided by MALDI imaging opens unique views on a myriad of research pathways.  The autoflex maX systems enable the imaging of a broad array of molecules, ranging from rather small molecules (e.g., lipids), up to intact proteins of 20 kDa or more.  Fast data acquisition rates permit the collections of thousands of data points in a realistic laboratory time scale, and the enhanced dynamic range of detection of the autoflex maX offers a true advantage in the analysis of highly complex samples such as biological tissues. 

With such a wealth of data, analysis for both targeted and discovery workflows requires powerful software to maximize its utility. Our market-leading SCiLS Lab software is a comprehensive toolbox for detailed analysis of MS imaging data and combines with autoflex maX as a robust and reliable MALDI imaging team.

negative ion mode
MALDI Imaging analysis of lipids in rat testis tissue. (Click to enlarge.)

The reliability and depth of both peptide and glycan based screening is improved due to the enhanced dynamic range of the autoflex maX. Antibody identification can be achieved rapidly using a dedicated 15 minute denaturation and digestion protocol, with the autoflex maX providing differentiating pattern of abundant peptide (peptide mass fingerprints). When compared to a reference pattern library, a dedicated scoring algorithm in our Biopharma Compass software provides similarity scores and traffic light color coding for easy determination of the correct mAb sequence match. Clone selection and QC screens can be quickly made from analysis of IdeS digested (Genovis) human IgG or on PNGAse F released glycans from all types of antibodies, and butterfly plots generated within Biopharma Compass allow rapid visual comparison of glycan pools of different mAb batches.

Comparison of N-glycan profiles
Comparison of N-glycan profiles of two batches of an IgG mAb with different intensity of G1F and the presence of high mannose glycans. (Click to enlarge)

For Research Use Only. Not for Use in Clinical Diagnostic Procedures.