ROS Detection Diabetes
ROS 检测缺血性中风

老鼠研究推翻常见糖尿病理论

2 型糖尿病 (T2DM) 是世界性的灾难,每年有超过 600 万的新病例报告。T2DM 是由胰岛素分泌不平衡和外周血细胞对胰岛素缺乏反应引起的。人们认为,线粒体对胰岛素耐受性有益,但其作用尚不明确。一些研究表明,氧化磷酸化 (OxPhos) 受损是导致 T2DM 和肥胖的机制。

基因方面研究表明,与 OxPhos 相关的线粒体基因(PGC-1α 和 NRF-1)在具有胰岛素耐受性的被试者体内受到抑制。NMR 研究追踪了骨骼肌中 OxPhos 与胰岛素耐受性之间的关系。  

使用基因敲除的小鼠研究胰岛素耐受性

Joza 等人(2005) 文章表明,小鼠体内的线粒体黄素蛋白凋亡诱导因子 (AIF) 的缺失导致了进展型 OxPhos 功能障碍。维持线粒体呼吸链被认为是 AIF 的主要功能。Pospisilik 等人(2007) 的文章利用 AIF 生成小鼠的 OxPhos 缺陷模型,研究了线粒体呼吸的缺陷是否会导致 T2DM 和肥胖。

他们研究了具有肌肉或肝脏特异性 OxPhos 缺陷的 AIF 基因敲除小鼠,并证实了这些动物是研究 OxPhos 与胰岛素耐受性密切相关的 有效模型。作为验证的一部分,他们确定了 OxPhos 与活性氧 (ROS) 是无关的,而活性氧是由 OxPhos 通过电子变迁产生的,我们已经知道,活性氧会引起胰岛素耐受性。 

电子顺磁共振 (EPR)

在布鲁克 X 波段的 EPR 波谱仪上进行的 EPR 测量表明,在这些特殊小鼠的制备过程中,内部或外部生成的 ROS 没有显著的变化。这表明,删除 AIF 并不会引起 ROS 的积累,也不会引起炎症,这对于下一步的实验非常重要。 

最初的代谢分析显示,在 8 周的时间里,患有 OxPhos 缺陷骨骼肌的小鼠出现了令人惊讶的情况。与正常小鼠相比,该小鼠口服葡萄糖耐量增加,胰岛素敏感性增加。这些小鼠在食用高脂肪食物时也能抵抗饮食引起的肥胖和糖尿病。在嵌合体(混合)肌肉特异性敲除模式下,小鼠也表现出了相同的特性,即葡萄糖耐受增加,而且可抵抗肥胖和糖尿病。

使用具有肝脏特异性的 AIF 基因敲除小鼠重复进行的实验显示了相同的结果——葡萄糖耐量和胰岛素敏感性增加。一只多系统 AIF 基因敲除小鼠,即杂色小鼠,也被发现具有同样的特性,即胰岛素敏感性和葡萄糖耐受性增强,并且可抵抗饮食引起的肥胖和糖尿病。  

AIF 基因敲除还可逆。研究人员利用腺病毒转基因传递系统恢复了缺失的 AIF 基因。实验将 AIF 基因敲除小鼠恢复到了正常的葡萄糖耐量和血浆峰值胰岛素水平。这证明,改变 AIF 表达可诱导和逆转线粒体功能障碍,而且这种改变与糖耐量相关。  

结论

这些研究的结论是,OxPhos 减少导致了肥胖减少和胰岛素敏感性增加——这与 OxPhos 减少导致 T2DM 的理论相矛盾。之所以与以前的研究不同,可能是因为在这种 OxPhos 不足的特殊模型中缺乏 ROS 的积累。

为了解释研究结果的机理,作者做出了这样解释:OxPhos 减少导致厌氧葡萄糖代谢的补偿性增加,从而导致养料利用率的净增加以便满足能量需求。基本上,他们使小鼠对养料的消耗率变得非常低,从而使小鼠无法在摄入高脂肪时增加体重或形成胰岛素耐受性。由于 AIF 基因敲除改变了代谢物的平衡——ATP 减少、NAD 减少、AMP 增加——AMPKinase 的激活可能会刺激代谢过程,包括葡萄糖摄取和脂肪酸氧化。同样,NAD 水平低下可能会降低促进糖酵解途径的活化作用。  

该研究表明,原发性 OxPhos 缺陷在小鼠中不会引起 T2DM。这实际上使老鼠对这种疾病有了抵抗力——这一发现对糖尿病治疗的发展有潜在的影响。

Contact an expert
Free Radical Detection with EMXnano

参考文献

  • Joza, N., Oudit, G.Y., Brown, D., Benit, P., Kassiri, Z., Vahsen, N., Benoit, L., Patel, M.M.,Nowikovsky, K., Vassault, A., et al. (2005). Muscle-specific loss of apoptosis-inducing factor leads to mitochondrial dysfunction, skeletal muscle atrophy, and dilated cardiomyopathy. Mol. Cell. Biol. 25, 10261–10272.
  • Lowell, B.B., and Shulman, G.I. (2005). Mitochondrial dysfunction and type 2 diabetes. Science 307, 384–387.
  • Mootha, V.K., Lindgren, C.M., Eriksson, K.F., Subramanian, A., Sihag, S., Lehar, J., Puigserver, P., Carlsson, E., Ridderstrale, M., Laurila, E., et al. (2003). PGC-1alpha-responsive genes involved in oxidative phosphorylation are coordinately downregulated in human diabetes. Nat. Genet. 34, 267–273
  • Patti, M.E., Butte, A.J., Crunkhorn, S., Cusi, K., Berria, R., Kashyap, S., Miyazaki, Y., Kohane, I., Costello, M., Saccone, R., et al. (2003). Coordinated reduction of genes of oxidative metabolism in humans with Insulin resistance and diabetes: Potential role of PGC1 and NRF1. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 100, 8466-8471.
  • Petersen, K.F., Befroy, D., Dufour, S., Dziura, J., Ariyan, C., Rothman, D.L., DiPietro, L., Cline, G.W., and Shulman, G.I. (2003). Mitochondrial dysfunction in the elderly: Possible role in insulin resistance. Science 300, 1140–114

ROS Detection Diabetes
ROS Detection Ischemic Stroke

Mouse study knocks out popular diabetes theory

Type 2 diabetes mellitus (T2DM) is a worldwide scourge, with over 6 million new cases reported each year. T2DM is caused by unbalanced insulin secretion and lack of responsiveness of peripheral cells to insulin. Mitochondria have been thought to contribute to insulin resistance, but their role has been unclear. A mechanism suggested by some studies is that impaired oxidative phosphorylation (OxPhos) is the mechanism leading to T2DM and obesity.

Genetic studies have shown that mitochondrial genes (PGC-1α and NRF-1) related to OxPhos are downregulated in insulin resistant subjects. NMR studies have tracked a correlation between OxPhos and insulin resistance in skeletal muscle.  

Using knockout mice to study insulin resistance

Joza et al. (2005) have shown that deletion of mitochondrial flavoprotein apoptosis inducing factor (AIF) in mice leads to progressive OxPhos dysfunction. Maintenance of the mitochondrial respiratory chain is thought to be the main function of AIF. Pospisilik et al. (2007) investigate whether defects in mitochondrial respiration cause T2DM and obesity using AIF to generate models of OxPhos deficiency in mice.

They engineered AIF knockout mice with muscle- or liver-specific OxPhos deficiency and confirmed that the animals were a valid model for OxPhos dependency of insulin resistance. As part of that validation, they determined that OxPhos was dissociable from reactive oxygen species (ROS), which are produced by electron flux through OxPhos and are known to cause insulin resistance. 

Electron paramagnetic resonance (EPR)

EPR measurements performed on a Bruker X-band EPR spectrometer showed that there were no significant changes in internally or externally generated ROS in preparations from the engineered mice. That suggests that deletion of AIF does not cause accumulation of ROS or induce inflammation-important for the next stage of their experiments. 

Initial metabolic analysis of the mice who had OxPhos deficient skeletal muscle at 8 weeks revealed a surprise. The mice had increased oral glucose tolerance and an increased insulin sensitivity compared to normal mice. These mice were also resistant to diet-induced obesity and diabetes when fed a high fat diet. Mice with a mosaic (mixed) muscle-specific knockout pattern also showed the same qualities of increased glucose tolerance and resistance to obesity and diabetes.

Experiments repeated with liver-specific AIF knockout mice showed the same result--increased glucose tolerance and insulin sensitivity. A multisystem AIF knockout mouse, the Harlequin mouse, was also found to have the same qualities of improved insulin sensitivity, glucose tolerance, and resistance to diet-induced obesity and diabetes.  

The AIF knockout can be reversed, as well. Using an adenoviral transgene delivery system, the researchers restored the missing AIF gene. The experiment returned the AIF knockout mice to normal glucose tolerance and plasma peak insulin levels. This proved that changing AIF expression can induce and reverse mitochondrial dysfunction, and that the changes correlated with glucose tolerance.  

Conclusion

The conclusion of these studies was that reduced OxPhos led to reduced adiposity and increased insulin sensitivity--a contradiction of the theory that reduced OxPhos was the cause of T2DM. The difference from previous studies may be due to absence of accumulation of ROS in this particular model of OxPhos deficiency.

The mechanism proposed by the authors to explain their findings was that reduction of OxPhos produced a compensatory increase in anaerobic glucose metabolism, leading to a net increase in fuel utilization to meet energy needs. Basically, they made the mice very inefficient consumers of fuel, which prevented them from gaining weight on a high fat diet or developing insulin resistance. Because the AIF knockout shifted the metabolite balance--decreased ATP, decreased NAD, and increased AMP--activation of AMPKinase might have stimulated catabolic processes including glucose uptake and fatty acid oxidation. As well, lower NAD levels might have reduced activation of a pathway promoting glycolysis.  

This study shows that a primary OxPhos defect does not cause T2DM in mice. It actually made the mice resistant to the disease--a finding with potential implications for development of therapies for diabetes.

Contact an Expert to request for demo
Free Radical Detection with the EMXnano

References

  • Joza, N., Oudit, G.Y., Brown, D., Benit, P., Kassiri, Z., Vahsen, N., Benoit, L., Patel, M.M.,Nowikovsky, K., Vassault, A., et al. (2005). Muscle-specific loss of apoptosis-inducing factor leads to mitochondrial dysfunction, skeletal muscle atrophy, and dilated cardiomyopathy. Mol. Cell. Biol. 25, 10261–10272.
  • Lowell, B.B., and Shulman, G.I. (2005). Mitochondrial dysfunction and type 2 diabetes. Science 307, 384–387.
  • Mootha, V.K., Lindgren, C.M., Eriksson, K.F., Subramanian, A., Sihag, S., Lehar, J., Puigserver, P., Carlsson, E., Ridderstrale, M., Laurila, E., et al. (2003). PGC-1alpha-responsive genes involved in oxidative phosphorylation are coordinately downregulated in human diabetes. Nat. Genet. 34, 267–273
  • Patti, M.E., Butte, A.J., Crunkhorn, S., Cusi, K., Berria, R., Kashyap, S., Miyazaki, Y., Kohane, I., Costello, M., Saccone, R., et al. (2003). Coordinated reduction of genes of oxidative metabolism in humans with Insulin resistance and diabetes: Potential role of PGC1 and NRF1. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 100, 8466-8471.
  • Petersen, K.F., Befroy, D., Dufour, S., Dziura, J., Ariyan, C., Rothman, D.L., DiPietro, L., Cline, G.W., and Shulman, G.I. (2003). Mitochondrial dysfunction in the elderly: Possible role in insulin resistance. Science 300, 1140–114