缺血性中风的细胞凋亡和氧化应激

在健康的人体中,从心脏和肺部流出的血液带着必要的营养物质和氧气来到大脑。有时,血液流经的血管会发生阻塞,使得大脑无法获取到这些至关重要的成分,大量的二氧化碳和细胞废物无法从大脑排出。在这种情况下,神经元难以产生充足的能量,最终死亡。这种阻塞是缺血性中风的典型特征,常常因脂肪在血管壁沉积引起,而这是动脉粥样硬化的潜在诱因。  

缺血性中风的其它重要风险因素包括:

 

  • 腹部肥胖
  • 高血压
  • 缺乏身体锻炼
  • 不良饮食
  • 吸烟史占据 80%

     

针对缺血级联反应

当前对缺血性中风的再灌注治疗包括重组组织型纤维蛋白酶原激活剂 (rt-PA),因为存在脑溢血的风险,这对大量的中风病人造成了挑战。在 Ord 等人发表在《脑血流量与代谢期刊》的研究中,研究员们检查了使用 c-jun 氨基端激酶 (JNK) 抑制和神经珠蛋白 (Ngb) 上调来针对缺血性级联反应的效用,旨在缺血性中风发生后保护神经元。该研究选择了神经珠蛋白,因为证据表明,在过表达后,它可以产生神经保护。

本质上,研究人员针对的是细胞凋亡和氧化应激,这是两个关键的生物学途径,在中风的发病机理中起到了作用。此研究的动物模型包含患高血压的大鼠。

氧化应激是心血管疾病和中风等各种疾病的驱动因素。降低氧化效果的方法对于降低疾病的风险和长期并发症至关重要。

电子顺磁共振

布鲁克 X 波段 EPR 波谱仪被用于使用自旋探针 1-羟基-3-羧基-2,2,5,5-四甲基吡咯烷 (CPH) 识别活性氧。布鲁克的 EPR 波谱仪使用自旋捕获,可检测到样品中短寿命的自由基。研究人员使用 Krebs 缓冲剂和 1mmol/L CPH 在现场培养细胞60 分钟,用于最后 24 小时的再氧化。

结合慢病毒介导 Ngb 后,相比于在 B50 细胞中进行再氧化/缺氧后的单药治疗,超表达显示为降低氧化应激以及显著的体外细胞凋亡。JNK 抑制和 CAVNgb 都减少了梗死体积。研究人员使用了 32 点神经功能评分来测量大鼠在缺血后的神经系统结果,发现 CAV、Ngbþ、JNK 抑制综合治疗显著改善了神经功能。另外,JNK 抑制和 Ngb 超表达减少了培养神经元的氧化应激,这往往与再氧化/缺氧有关。

结论

总而言之,本研究发现,结合抗氧化剂和抗凋亡疗法帮助减少了预先存在并发症的中风动物模型的梗死体积,改善了神经功能。其实,不论体内还是体外,综合干预实现的神经保护优于单药治疗。此研究也强调了将抗氧化治疗融入患者的生活方式所具有的潜力,对具有极大风险因素的缺血性中风患者进行饮食干预具有指导性意义。此外,此研究可能使得未来对有中风史的患者进行抗氧化剂干预效果的研究势在必行,尤其是针对神经功能恢复方面。

参考文献

  • Hacke W, Kaste M, Bluhmki E, Brozman M, Davalos A, Guidetti D et al. Thrombolysis with alteplase 3 to 4.5 hours after acute ischemic stroke. N Engl J Med. 2008;359:1317–1329.
  • O’Donnell MJ, Xavier D, Liu L, Zhang H, Chin SL, Rao-Melacini P et al. Risk factors for ischaemic and intracerebral haemorrhagic stroke in 22 countries (the INTERSTROKE study): a case-control study. Lancet. 2010;376:112–123.
  • Ord EN, Shirley R, McClure JD, et al. Combined antiapoptotic and antioxidant approach to acute neuroprotection for stroke in hypertensive rats. J Cereb Blood Flow Metab. 2013;33(8):1215-1224.
Contact an expert
Free Radical Detection with EMXnano

ROS Detection Ischemic Stroke
ROS Detection Ischemic Stroke

Apoptosis and oxidative stress in ischemic stroke

In healthy individuals, the flow of blood from the heart and lungs carries necessary nutrients and oxygen to the brain. Sometimes, an obstruction in a blood vessel that supplies this flow of blood can prevent the brain from receiving these vital components and minimize the removal of carbon dioxide and cellular waste from the brain. In this situation, neurons can have difficulty producing sufficient energy and eventually die. This obstruction is typical of an ischemic stroke and is often caused by fatty deposits in vessel walls, an underlying condition known as atherosclerosis. 

Other significant risk factors of ischemic stroke include:

  • Abdominal obesity
  • Hypertension
  • Physical inactivity
  • Poor diet
  • Smoking history account for 80%

Targeting the ischemic cascade

Due to the risk of cerebral hemorrhaging, current reperfusion treatment for ischemic stroke consisting of recombinant tissue plasminogen activator (rt-PA) proves challenging in a large subset of stroke patients. In a study by Ord et al. in the Journal of Cerebral Blood Flow & Metabolism, researchers examined the utility of targeting the ischemic cascade with c-jun N-terminal kinase (JNK) inhibition and neuroglobin (Ngb) upregulation for the purpose of protecting neurons following ischemic stroke. The study chose neuroglobin because it has been shown, after overexpression, to mediate neuroprotection.

Essentially, researchers targeted apoptosis and oxidative stress, two key biological pathways that play a role in the pathogenesis of stroke. The animal model in this study consisted of hypertensive stroke-prone rats.

Oxidative stress is a driving factor behind numerous diseases, including cardiovascular disease and stroke. Methods for attenuating the effect of oxidation is crucial for reducing both the risk for and long-term complications of disease.

Electron paramagnetic resonance

A Bruker X-band EPR spectrometer was used to identify reactive oxygen species using spin probe 1-hydroxy-3-carboxy-2,2,5,5-tetramethylpyrrolidine (CPH). An EPR spectrometer by Bruker using the spin trapping technique offers the ability to detect short-lived free radicals in a sample. Using Krebs buffer and 1mmol/L CPH, cells were incubated in situ for a total of 60 minutes for the final hour of the 24-hour period of reoxygenation.

Combined lentivirus-mediated Ngb overexpression was shown to reduce oxidative stress as well as apoptosis significantly in vitro compared to monotherapy after reoxygenation/hypoxia in B50 cells. Infarct volume was also reduced by both JNK inhibition and CAVNgb. The researchers used a 32-point neurologic score to measure the neurologic outcome of the rats after ischemia and found that a combined treatment of CAV, Ngbþ, and JNK inhibition significantly improved neurological function. Also, JNK inhibition and Ngb overexpression reduced the oxidative stress in cultured neurons often associated with reoxygenation/hypoxia.

Conclusion

In conclusion, this study found that a combination of antioxidant and antiapoptotic therapy helped to reduce infarct volume and improve neurological function in a stroke animal model with pre-existing comorbidities. In fact, a combined intervention helped achieve greater neuroprotection than monotherapy, both in vivo and in vitro. This study also highlights the potential of incorporating antioxidant therapy into the lifestyle of patients with significant risk factors for ischemic stroke through dietary intervention. Additionally, this study may warrant future research on the beneficial effects of antioxidant intervention for patients with a history of stroke, particularly in regards to neurologic recovery.

References

  • Hacke W, Kaste M, Bluhmki E, Brozman M, Davalos A, Guidetti D et al. Thrombolysis with alteplase 3 to 4.5 hours after acute ischemic stroke. N Engl J Med. 2008;359:1317–1329.
  • O’Donnell MJ, Xavier D, Liu L, Zhang H, Chin SL, Rao-Melacini P et al. Risk factors for ischaemic and intracerebral haemorrhagic stroke in 22 countries (the INTERSTROKE study): a case-control study. Lancet. 2010;376:112–123.
  • Ord EN, Shirley R, McClure JD, et al. Combined antiapoptotic and antioxidant approach to acute neuroprotection for stroke in hypertensive rats. J Cereb Blood Flow Metab. 2013;33(8):1215-1224.
Contact an Expert to request for demo
Free Radical Detection with the EMXnano