手持式荧光光谱仪如何工作?

当你在生意场上准备买一台手持式荧光光谱仪的时候,有些细节需要考虑,可能你也有很多问题要问。XRF是什么?XRF能做什么,能分析哪些元素,准确性怎样,分析的速度快吗?如果你或者你的同事正在问这些问题,你可以从下面的段落中找到答案。

手持式荧光光谱仪如何工作:一步一步指导

XRF是X射线荧光光谱仪的缩写,它是这样一个过程,电子从原子轨道的位置移动,释放大量的能量,这是一个特定的元素特征。释放的能量被XRF探测器捕捉到,仪器一一按元素进行能量分类。下面详细分解一下过程:

Detector_and_tube.jpg
  1. 一束带有足够能量的X射线打在样品表面原子壳内层的电子上,这个X射线束是由手持式荧光光谱仪内的X射线管产生的,这个X射线束从手持式荧光光谱仪前底端射出。
  2. X射线束打在样品表面的原子壳上,电子被激发后从原子壳内层轨道发生位移,这种位移的发生是由于从分析仪发出的X-射线束与在适当的轨道保持电子结合能发出的能量差;当X射线束的能量高于电子结合能就会发生位移。在原子中,电子以特定的能量固定在特定的位置,这就决定了它们的轨道。此外,一个原子轨道壳之间的间距是每个元素的原子的独特之处,所以,原子钾(K)与金(Au),或银(Ag)相比具有不同的电子层之间的距离。

 

 

Characteristic_X-ray_production1.jpg
  1. 当电子撞出轨道,他们留下的空位,使原子不稳定。原子必须立即被填充来纠正这个不稳定,这些空位可以由更高的轨道上的电子移动到一个较低的轨道。例如,如果一个电子转移从原子内层(最接近核),从下壳体的一个电子可以向下移动,以填补空缺。这就是荧光。
  2. 离原子核越远的电子,逃逸的能量越高。因此,当电子从较高电子层到靠近原子核的电子层时,要损失一些能量。损失的能量数与两个电子层间的能量差相等,由两个电子层的距离决定。对每个元素来说,两个轨道间的距离是唯一的,如上所述。
  3. 根据能量损失可以识别这个元素,对每种元素而言,在X荧光过程中能量损失数是唯一的。样品中检测到个别荧光能量是特定的,为了确定每个存在元素的数量,个别能量出现的比例可以通过仪器计算出来,或用其它软件。

整个荧光过程发生在一瞬间。利用这个过程,使用手持式XRF荧光光谱仪可在几秒钟完成。测量实际所需的时间取决于样品的性质和含量水平。高比例的需要几秒,而百万级水平的可能要花费几分钟。

要了解更多产品信息或演示请与我们的代理商联系

Handheld XRF: How it works

When your business considers an XRF purchase, there are many details to consider and many questions you may have. What is XRF? What does XRF do? What elements does it analyze? Is XRF accurate? Is it fast?  If you and your coworkers are asking yourselves these questions, you will find some helpful answers below.

How Handheld XRF Works: A Step-by-Step Guide

XRF is an acronym for x-ray fluorescence, a process whereby electrons are displaced from their atomic orbital positions, releasing a burst of energy that is characteristic of a specific element. This release of energy is then registered by the detector in then XRF instrument, which in turn categorizes the energies by element. Here is a detailed breakdown of the process:

Detector_and_tube.jpg
  1. An x-ray beam with enough energy to affect the electrons in the inner shells of the atoms in a sample is created by an x-ray tube inside the handheld analyzer. The x-ray beam is then emitted from the front end of the handheld XRF analyzer.
  2. The x-ray beam then interacts with the atoms in the sample by displacing electrons from the inner orbital shells of the atom. This displacement occurs as a result of the difference in energy between the primary x-ray beam emitted from the analyzer and the binding energy that holds electrons in their proper orbits; the displacement happens when the x-ray beam energy is higher than the binding energy of the electrons with which it interacts. Electrons are fixed at specific energies in their positions in an atom, and this determines their orbits. Additionally, the spacing between the orbital shells of an atom is unique to the atoms of each element, so an atom of potassium (K) has different spacing between its electron shells than an atom of gold (Au), or silver (Ag), etc.

 

 

Characteristic_X-ray_production1.jpg
  1. When electrons are knocked out of their orbit, they leave behind vacancies, making the atom unstable. The atom must immediately correct the instability by filling the vacancies that the displaced electrons left behind. Those vacancies can be filled from higher orbits that move down to a lower orbit where a vacancy exits. For example, if an electron is displaced from the innermost shell of the atom (the one closest to the nucleus), an electron from the next shell up can move down to fill the vacancy. This is fluorescence.
  2. Electrons have higher binding energies the further they are from the nucleus of the atom. Therefore, an electron loses some energy when it drops from a higher electron shell to an electron shell closer to the nucleus. The amount of energy lost is equivalent to the difference in energy between the two electron shells, which is determined by the distance between them. The distance between the two orbital shells is unique to each element, as mentioned above.
  3. The energy lost can be used to identify the element from which it emanates, because the amount of energy lost in the fluorescence process is unique to each element. The individual fluorescent energies detected are specific to the elements that are present in the sample. In order to determine the quantity of each element present, the proportion in which the individual energies appear can be calculated by the instrument or by other software.

The entire fluorescence process occurs in small factions of a second.  A measurement using this process and a modern handheld XRF gun can be made in a matter of seconds.  The actual time required for a measurement will depend on the nature of the sample and the levels of interest.  High percentage levels will take a few seconds while part-per-million levels will take a few minutes.

Contact Bruker today to find out more about XRF applications or to schedule a free demonstration of our instruments at your worksite.