黄铜管道部件中铅含量的新规定

Brass_Plumbing_Valve.jpg

安全的饮用水是人类的一个基本需求,也是我们期望的城市、国家、水库管理等部门赋予公民的基本义务。在美国,饮用水安全的一个长期存在的最大风险是铅污染。过去几十年来,大多数公共水道,最初包含铅管道已经进行了现代化改造,用无铅或低铅材料管道做了更换。不幸的是,老房子并不总是需要到代码,除非他们被改造的,所以,许多这样的家庭依旧还保有含铅量超出可允许安全水平的管线和管道组件。1986年后建的房屋,对管道中的铅水平进行了严格的安全标准规定。

安全饮用水法案最初颁布于1974年,1986年进行了修订,大幅度降低管道中的铅含量到8%的水平。2011年1月,安全饮用水法案的再次进行了修订,这次把黄铜成份中铅的可接受水平减少到饮用水的水平,0.25%。 要了解更多产品信息或演示请与我们的代理商联系

满足黄铜管道成份中0.25%的铅含量

到2014年1月,对铅含量水平的新的需求将生效。在这段时间里,所有涉及到的各方必须遵守0.25%铅标准。所有行业各方,包括黄铜管道部件的物料搬运,安装,凡涉及与饮用水有庆的部门都要遵守这个标准。遵守这个新安全饮用水法案修正案的一个可预见的挑战是供应链,即可能保有两种黄铜成份的材料现时并存的情况,一个是满足新的要求的,一个是继续含有高达8%的铅。为什么继续生产这些不符合新要求的部件呢?很多国家继续允许生产包含多达8%铅黄铜管道部件,是因为继续生产这些部件能给制造商带来最大的利润,因为高铅含量的黄铜更容易生产,生产成本相对低。因为可能会有两条供应链,有时,材料混料必然会发生。为了避免代价高昂的错误,制造商、供应商和分销商需要快速、准确地验证正在生产和安装的黄铜部件,检查是否满足新的SDWA铅限制标准。

S1_TITAN_analyzing_copper_pipe.jpg
SDWA, lead in brass plumbing

手持式XRF分析仪对黄铜部件的分析

手持式光谱仪是一种快速、方便、无损分析黄铜部件的仪器,Bruker行手持光谱仪的分析程序(如S1 TITAN系列)将提供完整的合金化学成份,包括黄铜中重量百分数的铅和铜,只需短短几秒钟就能完成。并且由于XRF分析方是完全无损的,所以可以在任何地方使用,合金材料和黄铜部件可以在任何地方,制造、安装、或服役中的任何阶段进行检测。

要了解更多产品信息或演示请与我们的代理商联系

 

相关应用:

Brass Plumbing Components: New Regulations for Lead

Brass_Plumbing_Valve.jpg

Safe drinking water is one the basic human needs, and one of the basic civil services we expect of our cities, states, reservoir management, etc. One of the biggest long-standing risks to the safety of drinking water in the U.S. is lead (Pb) contamination. Over the last few decades, most public waterways that originally contained Pb piping have undergone modernization and replacement of piping with lead-free or low-lead materials. Unfortunately, older homes are not always required to be up to code unless they are being remodeled, so many such homes still contain pipes and plumbing components with Pb content that is higher than the recommended safe levels. Homes built after 1986 were required to meet strict safety standards in terms of the Pb levels in their plumbing.

The Safe Drinking Water Act—originally made law in 1974—was amended in 1986 to substantially reduce the amount of lead allowed in plumbing components to 8%. The Safe Drinking Water Act was amended again in January of 2011, this time reducing the acceptable level of Pb in brass components that come into contact with drinking water to 0.25%. CONTACT US TO DISCOVER XRF TOOLS TO QUICKLY AND EASILY VERIFY THE % OF LEAD IN BRASS.

Meeting the 0.25% Pb Requirement in Brass Plumbing Components

The new requirements will come into effect in January of 2014, at which time all involved parties must comply with the 0.25% lead standard. All industry parties involved in materials handling and installation of brass plumbing components that come into contact with drinking water will be held responsible for compliance with the standard. One of the foreseeable challenges of compliance with this new Safe Drinking Water Act amendment is a supply chain that will likely maintain two parallel brass component inventories, one that meets the new requirement and one that will continue to contain as much as 8% Pb. Why continue to produce components that do not meet the new requirement? Most other countries will continue to allow brass plumbing components that contain as much as 8% Pb; it is in the best interest of the manufacturers to continue to make such components since brass higher in Pb is easier and less expensive to manufacture.

Because there will likely be a two-track supply chain, materials mix-ups are bound to occur occasionally. To avoid costly errors, manufactures, suppliers, and distributors will need to quickly and accurately verify that the brass components they are manufacturing and installing meet the new SDWA lead limits.

S1_TITAN_analyzing_copper_pipe.jpg
SDWA, lead in brass plumbing

Brass Plumbing Component Analysis with Bruker Handheld XRF Analyzers

Handheld XRF is a fast, easy, nondestructive instrument for the analysis of brass components.  The Bruker line of handheld XRF analyzers (such as the S1 TITAN series) will provide the complete alloy chemistry, including percent by weight of lead and copper in brass, within a matter of just a few seconds. And since the XRF method is completely nondestructive and can be used anywhere, alloying materials and brass components can be checked anywhere, at any step of the manufacturing, installation, or in-service process.

Contact Bruker today to schedule a free XRF demonstration at your worksite.

 

Related Applications:

Related Information