Großflächiges und hochauflösendes Mapping und hyperspektrale Abbildungen

Maximale Information über eine Probe

Identifizierung von Elementspuren und ihren zugehörigen Phasen in hyperspektralen Abbildungen mit ESPRIT HyperMap

Comparing Sum Spectrum and MaximumPixelSpectrum
Comparing sum (blue) and MaximumPixel-
Spectra (red) of a granite section.
Several rare earth elements could be
determined in the sample

Spuren von Elementen in einer Probe zu finden ist eine wichtige Analyseaufgabe. Normalerweise werden vorhandene Elemente in einem Summenspektrum der probe gesucht. Dies ist eine ziemlich fehleranfällige Vorgehensweise, weil Elemente, die nur an wenigen Punkten vorhanden sind, weggemittelt und übersehen werden können.Die MaximumPixelSpektrum-Funktion die für ESPRIT HyperMap verfügbar ist, hilft derartige Fehler zu vermeiden. Sie erzeugt ein synthetisches Spektrum, dass den höchsten Wert jeden Kanals jedes Spektrums aus dem HyperMap enthält. Die obige Abbildung vergleicht Summen- und MaximumPixelSpektrum.

Mit der Information aus dem MaximumPixelSpektrum können gefundene Elemente leicht im Map sichtbar gemacht werden. Im vorliegenden Fall wurde eine polierte Granitprobe untersucht. Es konnte z.B. gezeigt werden, dass vorhandener Monazit in lediglich fünf kleinen, über die Probe verteilten Partikeln konzentriert war.

Zugehörigen Applikationsbericht #04 herunterladen (PDF, englisch)

 

Hochauflösendes Mapping eines ozeanischen Bohrkerns

Oceanic Drill Core Map
Map (original size 3072 x 4096 pixels)
showing the uppermost layer of ejecta
in the oceanic drill core ODP Leg 207,
discernible by the orange tinted
layer. Note that the carbonates (light
and dark blue particles) and quartz
(purple) are restricted

Ein großflächiges Mapping mit hoher Auflösung gestattet es, sich quasi gleichzeitig einen Überblick über eine Probe und Detailinformationen in einem einzigen Map zu verschaffen. Die untersuchte Probe war ein Stück eines ozeanischen Bohrkerns, der Auswurfmaterial aus dem Chicxulub-Krater in Mexiko enthält. Der Meteorit der diesen Krater verursacht hat, wird für das Aussterben der Dinosaurier vor 65 Millionen Jahren verantwortlich gemacht.

Ein Map mit 4096 x 3072 Pixel Auflösung wurde von der Schicht mit Auswurfmaterialien in der Probe hergestellt. Dank der Geschwindigkeit der XFlash® Detektoren konnte das Mapping in lediglich 33 Minuten erstellt werden. Die Eingangsimpulsrate betrug 500 kcps.

Das hochauflösende gemischte Element-Map zeigt eine deutlich erkennbare Schicht in der obersten wenigen Millimetern des Büromaterials. Es besteht aus häufigen Kaltzieht- (CaCO3) und Kolorit-[(Ca, Mag)CO3]-Sphärulen, einigen geschockten Quarz-(SiO2) Splittern und Alumosilikatkörnern, wie Feldspat [(K, Na)AlSi3O8 , NaAlSi3O8 – CaAl2Si2O8]. Die Dolomit-Sphärulen haben zerklüftete Ränder, die von einer Tonschicht umgeben sind, ein Zeichen für thermische und mechanische Belastung während des Einschlags. Die porösen Kalzit-Sphärulen erinnern an experimentell produzierte Entgasungsstrukturen.

Zugehörigen Applikationsbericht #07 herunterladen (PDF, englisch)

Leichtelement- und Niedrigenergie-EDS-Analyse einer TiB2-TiC-Sic-Keramik mittels hyperspektraler Abbildung

Quantitative Single Element  Maps of a Ceramic Sample
Quantitative maps of main constituents
boron (a), carbon (b), silicon (c) and
titanium (d). Major phases are identifiable
by comparing concentrations in the
individual maps. TiB<sub>2</sub>, SiC and
TiC have been labeled for reference

Bei der untersuchten Probe handelt es sich um eine gesinterte Hartstoffkeramik, deren wesentliche Bestandteile Titandiborid (TiB2), Titankarbid (TiC) und Siliziumkarbid (SiC) sind. Daneben sind noch eine Reihe weiterer Phasen in geringer Konzentration vorhanden. Ein polierter aber unbedampfter Schliff des Materials wurde analysiert.

Die hier betrachtete Aufgabe ist quantitatives Leichtelement-Mapping. Ziel war es, die Verteilung chemischer Phasen in der Probe zu bestimmen. Eine Möglichkeit hierfür sind quantitative Maps der einzelnen Elemente. ESPRIT bietet die Möglichkeit, verschiedenen Konzentrationen in Atom% (Gewichts% sind auch möglich) unterschiedliche Farben zuzuweisen, wie die Abbildung oberhalb zeigt. Vergleich von Elementknozentrationen im gleichen Bereich unterschiedlicher Maps gestattet die Lokalisierung von Phasen. Zur einfacheren Identifizierung wurden sie in obiger Abbildung bezeichnet.

Nächster Schritt in der Analytik wäre Ihre eindeutige Zuweisung mittels ESPRIT Autophase.

Zugehörigen Applikationsbericht #10 herunterladen (PDF, englisch)

Large Area and High Resolution Mapping and Spectral Imaging

Maximum Possible Information on the Nature of a Sample

Identification of trace elements and corresponding phases with hyperspectral imaging (ESPRIT HyperMap)

Comparing Sum Spectrum and MaximumPixelSpectrum
Comparing sum (blue) and MaximumPixel-
Spectra (red) of a granite section.
Several rare earth elements could be
determined in the sample

Determining traces of elements in a sample is an important task in EDS. Elements present are normally searched in a sum spectrum. Nevertheless, this is somewhat error-prone, as elements present in a few locations only may be averaged out and so overlooked. The MaximumPixelSpectrum function available for ESPRIT HyperMap helps to avoid this by synthesizing a spectrum containing the highest count level of each channel of each spectrum in the HyperMap. The figure above compares sum spectrum and MaximumPixelSpectrum.

Using the information gained from the MaximumPixelSpectrum found elements can easily be made visible in the element map. The sample analyzed was a polished granite section containing very few monazite particles. It could for instance be shown that cerium is present in five small isolated particles distributed over the mapped area.

Download the corresponding application note #04 (PDF)

 

High resolution mapping of an oceanic drill core

Oceanic Drill Core Map
Map (original size 3072 x 4096 pixels)
showing the uppermost layer of ejecta
in the oceanic drill core ODP Leg 207,
discernible by the orange tinted
layer. Note that the carbonates (light
and dark blue particles) and quartz
(purple) are restricted

A large area and high resolution mapping allows to gain an overview and to see details of a sample in a single map. The specimen analyzed was a piece of an oceanic drill core containing ejecta from the Chicxulub crater in Mexico. The meteorite that caused this crater around 65 million years ago is said to be the reason for the extinction of the dinosaurs.

A 4096 x 3072 pixel map was obtained from the ejecta layer in the specimen. Thanks to the capabilities of the XFlash® detectors the mapping could be performed in only 33 minutes, using an input count rate of 500 kcps.

The high resolution composite element map displays a distinct layer in the uppermost millimeters of the ejecta deposit. It comprises abundant calcite (CaCO3) and dolomite [(Ca,Mg)CO3] spherules, few shocked quartz (SiO2) fragments and aluminosilicate grains such as feldspar [(K,Na)AlSi3O8, NaAlSi3O8  – CaAl2Si2O8]. The dolomite spherules have irregular serrated boundaries enclosed by a layered clay shell indicating impact-induced mechanical and thermal stress during the impact event. The porous calcite spherules resemble experimentally produced degassing textures.

Download the corresponding application note #07 (PDF)

Advanced light element and low energy X-ray analysis of a TiB2-TiC-SiC ceramic material using EDS spectrum imaging

Quantitative Single Element  Maps of a Ceramic Sample
Quantitative maps of main constituents
boron (a), carbon (b), silicon (c) and
titanium (d). Major phases are identifiable
by comparing concentrations in the
individual maps. TiB<sub>2</sub>, SiC and
TiC have been labeled for reference

The sample investigated is a sintered hard ceramic material, mainly composed of titanium di-boride (TiB2), titanium carbide (TiC), silicon carbide (SiC) and a number of minor constituents. A polished but uncoated section of this material was analyzed.

The task we are looking at is quantitative light element mapping. The target was to determine chemical phase distribution in the sample. A possibility of doing this is by comparing quantitative single element maps. ESPRIT offers a lookup table to assign colors to concentration ranges coded in atomic% (weight % is also possible), as shown in the figure above. Comparing concentrations in the same ranges of the map allows to localize phases. As an aid to localize the phases in the maps according labels have been placed in the image above.

The next step would be to use ESPRIT Autophase to clearly assign phases.

Download the corresponding application note #10 (PDF)