WDS, QUANTAX, Ultra-Sensitive, Wavelength-Dispersive Spectrometry, SEM

QUANTAX WDS avec XSense

La haute résolution là où elle compte vraiment

XSense on SEM

Le spectromètre XSense offre une résolution de 4 eV pour la raie Kα du silicium. Doté de 6 cristaux monochromateurs , il couvre la gamme d'énergie de 100 eV à 3,6 keV. Le grand nombre de cristaux couvrant des gammes d'énergie se chevauchant partiellement  garantit la sélection la plus appropriée.

Gestion avancée du compteur proportionnel pour des résultats fiables

Le système de gestion du compteur de Bruker contrôle la pression du compteur et règle automatiquement la haute tension et les paramètres du discriminateur. Cela facilite non seulement le fonctionnement du système et réduit la consommation de gaz, mais garantit aussi que les caractéristiques du compteur restent constantes. La reproductibilité et la fiabilité du système sont améliorées.

Une sensibilité accrue

Molybdenum L Line WDS Spectrum
Comparing L line spectra of molybdenum
acquired with (solid) and without (outline)
secondary collimating optics

Grâce aux mouvements évolués du spectromètre XSense, les cristaux monochromateurs sont toujours parfaitement positionnés pour le faisceau incident sur toute la gamme angulaire, il n'y a pas de perte de signal.

Le système optique sophistiqué – y compris l'optique secondaire entre le cristal et le détecteur – améliore la résolution, le rapport pic sur bruit et la sensibilité. L'optique du faisceau primaire est non magnétique, évitant ainsi la dérive du faisceau primaire et une distorsion de l'image.

Conditions de mesure optimales grâce à l'autoalignement du système optique

Auto-Alignment Function of the Spectrometer Optics
Illustration of the auto-alignment function
of the XSense spectrometer optics

L'alignement précis de l'axe optique du spectromètre par rapport à la position du spot sur l'échantillon est capital dans la spectrométrie à faisceau parallèle. XSense est équipé d'une platine interne à trois axes entièrement motorisée pour assurer le positionnement rapide et stable de l'optique du faisceau parallèle avec une précision sub-micrométrique. Un algorithme "intelligent" procède à l'alignement automatique en recherchant l'intensité maximale dans les trois directions du mouvement.

Panneau de contrôle tactile pour l'installation et la surveillance

Le panneau de contrôle tactile de XSense permet à l'utilisateur de contrôler les paramètres du spectromètre. Les sécurités peuvent être contrôlées et des réglages de base peuvent être effectués. Ceci inclut l'ouverture et la fermeture du clapet obturateur, la rétraction du système optique, etc.

Intégration totale avec EDS

Le nouveau logiciel ESPRIT 2.0 offre l'intégration totale du WDS et de l'EDS. Les mesures peuvent être effectuées ensemble et les résultats peuvent être combinés en particulier pour la  quantification.

Télécharger la brochure XSense (PDF, anglais)

Related Information

WDS, QUANTAX, Ultra-Sensitive, Wavelength-Dispersive Spectrometry, SEM

QUANTAX WDS with XSense

High Resolution where it Really Counts

XSense on SEM

The XSense spectrometer achieves energy resolutions in the range of 4 eV for Si Kα radiation. Equipped with 6 diffracting (analyzer) crystals it covers the energy range from 100 eV to 3.6 keV. The large number of crystals with partially overlapping energy ranges ensures that the best fit for the current task is selected.

Advanced proportional counter management for reliable results

Bruker's unique counter management system controls counter pressure and automatically performs high voltage and discriminator settings. Not only does this simplify device operation and minimize gas consumption, it also warrants that counter characteristics remain constant under all environmental conditions. This enhances reproducibility and system reliability.

Pushing the limits of sensitivity

Molybdenum L Line WDS Spectrum
Comparing L line spectra of molybdenum
acquired with (solid) and without (outline)
secondary collimating optics

The XSense spectrometer's advanced kinematics ensures that the diffracting crystals are always perfectly positioned with respect to the incoming beam over the full Bragg angle range. This eliminates signal loss.

The sophisticated optical system – including secondary optics between crystal and detector – pushes resolution, peak-to-background ratio and sensitivity to their limits. A non-magnetic primary beam optics avoids beam shift and image distortion.

Optimum measurement conditions through auto-alignment of the optics

Auto-Alignment Function of the Spectrometer Optics
Illustration of the auto-alignment function
of the XSense spectrometer optics

The precise alignment of the spectrometer's optical axis with respect to the current sample spot is vital in parallel beam spectrometry. XSense is equipped with an internal fully motorized three axis stage to support fast and stable positioning of the parallel beam optics with sub-micrometer resolution. A smart algorithm provides correct alignment at the touch of a key by finding the maximum intensity in all three directions of movement.

Touch control panel for setup and monitoring

XSense's touch panel display allows the user direct control of the spectrometer status. Interlock functions can be checked and basic setup operations performed. These include opening and closing the gate valve, retraction of the optics and more.

Full integration with EDS

The new ESPRIT 2.0 software provides full integration of WDS and EDS. Measurements can be performed on the same spot and results can be combined for improved reliability of quantification.

Download the XSense flyer (PDF)

Download the Application Note WDS-01 - High spectral resolution applications